Spring 2015: 1990s


Mary Jane Santos, MLS, Delaware, Ohio, was recognized as 2014 Librarian of the Year by the Ohio Library Council. As director of the Delaware County District Library, Santos developed partnerships with schools, other libraries, higher education institutions, law enforcement and businesses that strengthen the library’s importance in the community.


Richard Fabritius, Smyrna, Ga., was elected for a fifth term to the General Council board of directors for Phi Delta Theta International Fraternity. Fabritius will serve a two-year term as general council president of the board. 


Scott Kraynak, Grand Canyon, Ariz., wrote, “As a park ranger at the Grand Canyon, I have built an environmental education center, given presentations at Taiwan’s national parks and was President Obama’s guide to the canyon. The book I co-authored with my brother, Animal Crackers, was admitted into New York Comic Con in October. It’s a children’s book for adults, showing what it would look like if wildlife treated people like people treat animals.”

Alumni Association MemberCharles Nieman, PhD, Wexford, Pa., accepted a position as director of international initiatives at Shepherd University in Shepherdstown, West Virginia. 

Susan Skoczen, Fairport Harbor, Ohio, a jewelry maker and assistant professor of fine arts at Indiana University Kokomo, received the Pamela Morris Thomford Award for Excellence in Metals in the Best of 2014 Ohio Designer Craftsmen’s show at the Ohio Craft Museum, Columbus. 

Robert Slaby, Mobile, Ala., was appointed as the 2014–2015 president of the Alabama Society of CPAs Mobile Chapter. He is a manager with Wilkins Miller Hieronymus LLC, an accounting and advisory firm with offices in Mobile and Fairhope, Alabama.