Celebrating JMC's Nationally Award-Winning Year

As part of student success week, JMC is celebrating its most successful year ever.

JMC is completing its most successful year ever in national journalism and communication competitions, and students who earned national recognition were honored at an award ceremony on Tuesday evening, as part of Student Success Week.

The 47 student honorees have won, placed, or been nominated in the William Randolph Hearst’s Journalism Awards Program; Society for Professional Journalists (SPJ) Mark of Excellence Awards; Broadcast Educator’s Association (BEA) Festival of Arts exhibition; College Photographer of the Year (CPOY) competition; Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) Bateman, Gold Key, Star Chapter and National Teahan Awards and the Collegiate Effie Awards. Also honored were JMC’s first News21 news fellow and Dow Jones and American Society for Magazine Editors (ASME) interns.
On the National Stage
Director Thor Wasbotten told the students that these awards reflect JMC’s increasing presence on the national stage. “Regional awards are important, but we are also nationally focused, and the national awards are an important measure of our success.”

Wasbotten praised the students’ hard work and the dedicated guidance of faculty. “Everyone here this evening is at the top of their game. The work ethic of JMC students is as good as any in higher education, and many are even better. What an amazing year. You have raised the bar.”

A highlight of the evening was a video tribute from CNN’s Carol Costello, a JMC alumna. She commended students for their achievements and for their passion for compelling, objective storytelling. “Your work ethic will carry you forward,” she said.

Faculty members John Butte, Dave LaBelle, Tim Roberts, Dave Smeltzer, Wendy Wardell and Sue Zake presented award certificates to the students, commending their work and professional growth. The specially designed certificates featured a rendering of the iconic StarSphere 2010 sculpture in front of Franklin Hall, which symbolizes global communication, friendship and the First Amendment. “We chose to feature the StarSphere sculpture to remind you of your unique and enduring rights and responsibilities as professional communicators,” Wasbotten said.

Student Awardees
The event offered an opportunity for students to reflect on the significance of national recognition.

“Being at JMC is an incredible opportunity. We have talented professors who guide us in the classroom and professionally. I am thrilled beyond belief to be a Dow Jones intern,” said senior magazine journalism Emily Inverso, who was also an ASME intern in 2012.

“I don’t do what I do for awards, but it makes it so much sweeter to win an award – or two!” said senior news major Rebecca Reis, who won both Hearst and SPJ awards.

“I couldn’t have done this without JMC faculty, who spend a lot of hours critiquing our portfolios and making us better journalists,” said senior visual journalism major Coty Giannelli, a Hearst nominee.

The following students and 2012 alumni were honored at the ceremony:

Collegiate Effie
Jadyn Atkinson
Marissa Decker
Zachary Seder
Corey Van Son

Katelyn Brown
Jacob Byk
Chelsie Corso
Anthony Dominic
Grant Engle
Coty Giannelli
Simon Husted
Matthew Jarchow
Chelsae Ketchum
Kaitlynn LeBeau
Megan Moore-Closser
Hannah Potes
Brian Presley
Rebecca Reis
Taylor Rogers
Nick Shook
Jennifer Shore
Frank Yonkof

Kirsten Bowers
Wezley Garlick
Mary Katherine Garvey
Christine Morgan
Caitlin Potts
Lyndsey Sager
Taylor Titus

Philip Botta
Doug Brown
Matthew Hafley
Rachel Kilroy
Rachael LeGoubin
Leighann McGivern
Jody Michael
Daniel Moore (News 21 Fellow)
Rex Santus
Brian Smith

Kathryn Coduto
Estee Chase-Hodge
Richard Pierce

Kristin Bauer
Brooke DiDonato

ASME Internship
Kelli Fitzpatrick

Dow Jones Internship
Carrie Blazina Emily Inverso 

POSTED: Thursday, May 2, 2013 04:33 PM
Updated: Saturday, December 3, 2022 01:02 AM
School of Journalism and Mass Communication