Student Media Wins Multiple Awards Across Media Partners

From the Best Ongoing Student Magazine to Radio In-Depth Reporting to Opinion Writing, Kent State Students Earn Top Honors

Kent State students and Student Media won multiple awards and scholarships this spring across a range of different awarding bodies. Winners and finalists were selected from a wide range of formats, media types and genres of writing. Students were honored by media associations, professional associations and press clubs.

Society of Professional Journalists Region 4 Mark of Excellence Competition

The Society of Professional Journalists recognizes the best collegiate journalism every year with their Mark of Excellence awards. Region 4 consists of Michigan, Ohio, Western Pennsylvania and West Virginia. Kent State students won a number of awards this year including:

Radio News Reporting
Winner: Some parts of Rural Ohio lack maternal care. Can midwives help? — by Jenna Bal, Ideastream Public Media, Kent State University

Radio In-Depth Reporting
Winner: In the aftermath of the East Palestine, Ohio, train derailment — by Grace Springer, Sophia Lucente, Collaborative News Lab, Kent State University

Best Ongoing Student Magazine
Winner: The Burr — by Staff, The Burr, Kent State University

Television In-Depth Reporting
Winner: Akron nonprofit turns Metro bus into ‘Caravan of Love’ — by Alexandra Manthey,, Kent State University

Best All-Around Television Newscast
Winner: TV2 News for Dec. 7, 2023 — by Staff,, Kent State University

Editorial/Opinion Writing
Finalist: Commentary — by Virginia Doherty, Kent Stater, Kent State University

Science/Environment/Climate Reporting
Finalist: ‘Pretty pest’: The invasive species taking over the Midwest — by Alton Northup, The Kent Stater/KentWired, Kent State University

Ohio Collegiate Newspaper and Website Competition

The Ohio News Media Association & Ohio News Media Foundation established the annual Ohio Collegiate Newspaper and Website Competition to recognize the achievements of Ohio’s college and university newspapers. This year Kent State Student Media were finalists for four awards, winning two.

  • Best Website (Finalist):
  • In-Depth Reporting (Finalist):  Izzy Schreck
  • News Coverage (2nd Place): The Kent Stater, Staff of the Kent Stater 
  • Opinion Writing (2nd Place): Virginia Doherty

Akron Press Club Scholarships

This year was an exciting one for Kent State students for the Akron Press Club Scholarships. Of the 10 scholarships awarded, seven went to Kent State students, a testament to the quality of the education provided in MDJ and the quality of students that populate our classrooms and newsrooms.

John S. Knight Scholarship
Named for former the editor of the Akron Beacon Journal, John S. Knight, each of these scholarships are for $5,000 and went to four Kent State students.

  • Mariah Alanskas
  • Alton Northup
  • Tanner Poe
  • Isabella Schreck

Russ Pry Scholarship
The Press Club also awards the Russ Pry scholarship in honor of the Summit County executive who supported the Press Club and who died in 2016.The Russ Pry scholar is Kent State student Aden Graves.

Louis Gitsin Thong Scholarship
Through the generosity of Aileen Thong, a retired U.S. Army physician, in tribute to her father, the late Louis Gitsin Thong, the Akron Press Club awarded two more scholarships. The Thong scholars are:

  • Destiny Tores 
  • Chloe Wilson-Henline

Elizabeth Bartz Scholarship
Made possible by Elizabeth Bartz, president and chief executive of State and Federal Communications. The Bartz scholar is Macy Rosen.

POSTED: Tuesday, May 21, 2024 01:13 PM
Updated: Thursday, June 27, 2024 10:29 AM