Career-Technical Education Teacher Recognition


Matthew Ferrell

Matt Ferrell

Congratulations to Matt Ferrell, Media Design CTE Program Teacher at Massillon Washington High School, on receiving the 2019 Ohio ACTE award for Outstanding New Career-Tech Teacher! Mr. Ferrell completed his Career-Technical Teacher Education program with us at Kent State, as did his two mentor teachers at Massillon Washington. See a video his students produced on our In the News page.


Dr. Kip Crain


Dr. Kip Crain

Congratulations to Dr. Kip Crain on being recognized as the 2019 Ohio Career-Technical Administrator of the Year! We at Kent State CTTE have worked with Dr. Crain and his teaching staff for many years, and can attest to the dedication and leadership he provides to Career Technical Education at Wayne County Schools Career Center and beyond. Congratulations from all of us at Kent State University!


Tom Fulton

Tom Fulton, a KSU Career-Technical Education alumnus, has taken "The Road Less Traveled" to become the director of the Academy for the Performing Arts in Chagrin Falls, Ohio. The Academy for the Performing Arts is a college preparatory program of Excel Technical Education Career Consortium. Since taking the directorship of the Academy for the Performing Arts, Tom has developed the robust classical curriculum of the Academy, with a concentration of Stanislavski technique and Acting Shakespeare - and has overseen the growth of the program from 23 students (2008-2009) to 85 students in its ninth year (2016-2017). Read Dr. Patrick O'Connor’s article The Road Less Traveled - Thomas Q. Fulton, Jr.


My DRIVE for CTE by Eric Mathews

Read this blog post published in the February 2017 edition of Educators in Action

Eric Mathews is a Marketing Management Teacher at Akron Public Schools (North High School). Mr. Mathews, who is a Kent State CTTE alumnus and was named the 2015 ACTE New Teacher of the Year, was invited to the White House to be honored by President Barack Obama in May 2016.



Kent Roosevelt High School, Kent, Ohio

Kent Chamber of Commerce - 2016 Bright Star Award

Congratulations to Brent Pfeiffer who was honored in November by the Kent Chamber of Commerce as a Tree City Award Winner for 2016. Brent will receive the Bright Star Award.  Mr. Pfeiffer is a Marketing Education teacher at Kent Roosevelt High School as well as a Part-Time Instructor in the CTE Program at KSU.  Brent graduated from the Kent PD Citizens Police Academy in 2015 and is a Kent State University CTTE alumnus.


Theresa Brugler

Theresa Brugler

Portage Lakes Career Center - Uniontown, Ohio

2016 Summit County All County Teaching Team

Congratulations to Theresa Brugler!  Theresa was selected to be a member of the 2016 Summit County All County Teaching Team.  Mrs. Brugler is a Marketing and Management instructor at Portage Lakes Career Center and Kent State University CTTE alumnus.


Debbie Ganyard


Buckeye Career Center - New Philadelphia, Ohio

Named "Amazing Teacher" for October 2016

Congratulations to Debbie Ganyard, Hospitality Teacher at Buckeye Career Center in New Philadelphia, Ohio.  Debbie was named "Amazing Teacher" for October 2016. The award-winning teacher said "When students first begin a school year, I often hear them say, 'I can't.'  There is no greater joy as a teacher to listen to a student go from saying 'I can't' to 'I can do it!'.  Ms. Ganyard is a Kent State University CTTE alumnus.


Stephanie McKnight


Alliance High School - Alliance, Ohio

Named 2016 Ohio ACTE Outstanding CTAE Professional in Community Service

Congratulations to Stephanie McKnight, a Health Sciences Teacher, at Alliance High School.  Ms. McKnight is a Kent State University CTTE alumnus.  She was named 2016 Ohio ACTE Outstanding CTAE Professional in Community Service.  She has involved her students, as well as herself, in numerous community service projects such as teaching first aid to handicapped students, compiling first aid kits, creating and distributing kits for the homeless and organizing local blood drives.


Greg Boykin at Max Hayes High School


Kent State University CTTE Alumnus

Inducted into Kent City Schools Hall of Fame

Congratulations to Greg Boykin, Auto Body Teacher at Max Hayes High School in the Cleveland Metropolitian School District.  Mr. Boykin was inducted into the Kent City Schools Hall of Fame on Saturday, April 9. Established in 1999, the Hall of Fame recognizes graduates of Theodore Roosevelt High School and others who have made exceptional achievements in their field or unique contributions to the Kent community. Mr. Boykin completed his licensure coursework with us in 2014.


Clayton Cundiff Culinary Arts Kenmore High SchoolCLAYTON CUNDIFF

Kenmore High School - Kenmore, Ohio

Aspiring chefs dish out free meals to area seniors

The Kenmore Community Center, 880 Kenmore Blvd., Kenmore, OH is the location of a classroom setting that Clayton Cundiff has created for his Kenmore culinary arts students.  The students walk a block to the Community Center on the first Wednesday of each month to serve seniors.  The students learn about life, interact with a generation from a distant Kenmore and hone their craft. Many of the teens aspire to become chefs.