Physician Feature: May 2021

Before you sit in their office, sit in on an interview with us as we ask Cleveland Foot & Ankle Clinic physicians all the important questions!

Meet Abe Osbourne, DPM

Associate Professor, Division of Podiatric & General Medicine, Kent State University College of Podiatric Medicine

Degrees & Training: Doctor of Podiatric Medicine, Kent State University College of Podiatric Medicine; Postgraduate training, Kent State University College of Podiatric Medicine and Sisters of Charity Hospital, Buffalo, New York

Special Interests: Business of podiatric medicine, Gerontology

Request an Appointment


  • Q: Why did you choose podiatry?
    • A: I wanted to do something that would have an immediate impact on people. I enjoy basic palliative patient care and spending time educating my patient about their foot issues.
  • Q: Why do you love working at the Cleveland Foot & Ankle Clinic: 
    • A: I enjoy the interaction with students and patients. It can get very interesting at times dealing with both.
  • Q: What's it like being a podiatrist in a global pandemic?
    • A: There have been many experiences - initially an unscheduled break from clinic, then a return to clinic seeing patients by myself, then with a single student now back to a full compliment of students , however everyone is still masked up.
  • Q: What shows are you hooked on right now?
    • A: Huge fan of HGTV and a housing show taking place in the English countryside on the DABL channel.
  • Q: Tell us about your free time!
    • A: Love to take pictures - would like to find time to take photography classes in the future
  • Q: Any hidden talents?
    • A: Not really a talent - but grew up playing hockey so even though I no longer play hockey I still enjoy ice skating
  • Q: What's one thing you can't resist?
    • A: Pound cake, Jamaican rum cake
  • Q: What was your very first job?
    • A: Worked in a knitting factory running machines making different types of cloth
  • Q: If you weren't a podiatrist, what would you be?
    • A: Studied Gerontology in university, so perhaps would have obtained a PhD in Gerontology
  • Q: What's your favorite place to be?
    • A: Lived in Ottawa, Ontario. In the winter would go for long skating sessions on Rideau Canal and in the summer would bike throughout the whole city
  • Q: You can bring three guests to a dinner party - living or dead. Who's coming?
    • A: Present Nelson Mandela ; Harriet Tubman ; President Barack Obama
  • Q: We finish this interview and you step outside to find a lottery ticket that ends up winning $10 million. What do you do?
    • A: Would like to donate some money to micro-banks that finance work projects of women in Africa, some money to charities providing water in undeveloped countries, on a personal level would pay off all family bills
  • Q: How do you relax?
    • A: Enjoy listening to classical or jazz music
  • Q: What is your favorite vacation?
    • A: Banff, Alberta, is a very pretty spot to vacation
  • Q: What's your morning routine look like on a typical weekday?
    • A: Up at 5AM - walk 3 miles on high school track or middle school parking lot then back home for 20 - 30 minutes of yoga