Fall 2016: 1990s


Alumni Association MemberMichael Lanstrum, BS, AS ’88, Cleveland, Ohio, published “Revisiting Equal Sums” in the Ohio Journal of School Mathematics (Spring 2016).


Lynn (Wideman) Eastep, BA, Olmsted Twp., Ohio, was named president of consumer brands for Fathom, a digital marketing agency.

Richard Fabritius, BBA, Smyrna, Ga., was inducted into  the 2016 Phi Delta Theta Georgia Alumni Hall of Fame. Fabritius is managing director of Brunner Inc. and serves as Phi Delta Theta General Council President.


Karen Adinolfi, MA, Akron, Ohio, partner at Roetzel & Andress LPA, was elected chair of the Board of Trustees of the Akron Blind Center, a nonprofit organization committed to serving the visually impaired of Summit County and the greater Akron area. Adinolfi also was nominated to the Board of Trustees of the Ohio Women’s Bar Association.

Anita Bradley, BA, Strongsville, Ohio, founder and executive director of the Cleveland-based Northern Ohio Recovery Association, was honored in April by the Obama administration as a “Champion of Change” for her community-and peer-based work in drug and alcohol prevention, treatment and recovery. She also was named a winner of the 2015 Women Who Excel Entrepreneur Award from Smart Business magazine (see feature: Overcoming Addiction).

Todd Brown, BBA, Kent, Ohio, was promoted to vice president of finance by Wayne Homes, an Ohio-based custom home builder that specializes in affordable on-your-lot homes.

Catherine Cardwell, MLS, Youngstown, Ohio, was appointed dean of the Nelson Poynter Memorial Library at University of South Florida St. Petersburg. She previously served as director of libraries at Ohio Wesleyan University, and before that was a librarian and administrator at Bowling Green State University.

Ted Traut, BS, Copley, Ohio, was elected a shareholder of Weltman, Weinberg & Reis Co., LPA, a full-service creditors’ rights law firm. He focuses his practice on general consumer collection matters, with an emphasis on insurance subrogation services, for which he has been recognized in the 2010-11 editions of Ohio Rising Stars.


Kevin Smith, MLS, Lawrence, Kan., was appointed dean for KU Libraries at the University of Kansas, effective May 1, 2016.


Tracy van der Kuil, BA, Ravenna, Ohio, has joined Cleveland-based design firm Richardson Design as a senior designer.


Paul Taylor, BS, BArch, Chagrin Falls, Ohio, has been promoted to principal at Bialosky Cleveland and continues to be one of the architectural firm’s key design leads. His workplace design for MarshBerry Corporation was honored with an IIDA Award for Best Small Corporate Office at the 2015 AIA/IIDA Cleveland Design Awards.


Joseph Salem Jr., MLS, MA ’05, PhD ’14, Akron, Ohio, associate dean for Learning, Undergraduate Services and Commonwealth Campus Libraries, Pennsylvania State University, was one of 28 people selected to participate in the 2016–2017 Leadership Fellows program by the Association of Research Libraries. The program facilitates the development of senior-level leaders in large research libraries and archives.