Student Awards Round-Up: 2020-2021

The COVID-19 pandemic brought unprecedented challenges to students as they learned new ways to work, learn and communicate. But despite these hurdles, they managed to produce award winning work in several national and regional contests. Here is a summary of the recognition students earned from summer 2020 to summer 2021.


2021 Effie Collegiate Competition: National Semi-Finalists

Society of Professional Journalists: Regional Mark of Excellence

  • Student Journalists Earn Recognition for Coverage of National Issues

    In 2020-21, student journalists in the Kent State School of Media and Journalism responded to the nation’s turbulent news cycle — a once-in-a-century pandemic, a combative presidential election and nationwide protests in support of racial justice and equality — by digging in and covering these issues on a local level.

    Read More

2021 Bateman Case Study Competition: Honorable Mention

  • Students Earn Honorable Mention in National PR Case Study Competition

    For the eighth time in nine years, a team of Kent State students has earned national recognition in the Public Relations Student Society of America's Bateman Case Study Competition.  The team, "Bateman Blue" — public relations majors Zach Zdanowicz, Camryn Stephens, Ben Vrobel, Hannah Mayer, Kayla Polansky and Ashley Blood — earned an honorable mention.

    Read More

2021 Reynolds Journalism Institute Student Innovation Contest: Top 10

2021 Hearst Journalism Awards: Individual Top 20

2020 PRSSA National Awards: Teahan Professional Adviser Award, Gold Key Award

  • Kent State Public Relations Student Organization and Alumni Win National Awards

    Kent State’s Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA Kent) Chapter, along with two School of Media and Journalism (MDJ) alumnae, earned national recognition at the 2020 PRSSA Annual International Conference. Public relations alumna Jill Golden, won the highest individual award, the National Gold Key award, and alumna Carrie Kandes, APR, earned the Teahan Professional Adviser award.

    Read More

2020 Distinguished Adviser Award (College Media Association): Susan Kirkman Zake