Candace Perkins Bowen

Candace Perkins Bowen

School of Media and Journalism
Director, Center for Scholastic Journalism/Professor
Office Location:
Room 201B Franklin Hall
Office Hours:
Noon to 2 p.m. Mondays and Wednesdays in 201B Franklin. Other times by appointment.
Contact Information
Personal Website:


Candace Perkins Bowen directs both the Center for Scholastic Journalism at Kent State University and the statewide Ohio Scholastic Media Association. She also oversees the online master's degree Journalism Education program.

She teaches Writing Across Platforms, including the Honors section, plus journalism teaching methods for Integrated Arts majors and opinion writing at the master's level in the online program. A former high school journalism teacher with a BS in newspaper journalism and an MA in journalism education, Perkins Bowen is a past president of the national Journalism Education Association and continues to be an active member of JEA's Scholastic Press Rights and Certification committees.

She is past head of the Scholastic Journalism Division of AEJMC and works with Student Press Law Center, especially with its attempt to pass New Voices legislation in all 50 states.

She can be found online at:

Facebook: Candace Bowen

Twitter: @candacepb 

Instagram: candacepb


Northern Illinois University, BS in Newspaper Journalism, Northern Illinois University, MA in Journalism Education


Scholastic Media, Student Free Expression, News Literacy, High School Journalism, Journalism, Literacy, Mass Communication


  • Board of the Journalism Education Association, Steering Committee of the Student Press Law Center Advisory Council, Scholastic Journalism Division of AEJMC
  • Kent State University Distinguished Teaching Award finalist (2017)
  • Honors Lecture for Scholastic Journalism Division, Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication, Montreal (2014)
  • The Linda S. Puntney Teacher Inspiration Award, from the Journalism Education Association (2013)
  • Indiana Scholastic Journalism Award, The Department of Journalism, Ball State University (2013)
  • Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication Dorothy Bowles Public Service Award, Inaugural recipient (2012)
  • Dow Jones Newspaper Fund High School Journalism Teacher of the Year (1989)