Honors Scholarship

Wick Poetry Center Honors Scholarship

$1,000 in scholarships will be awarded for the best poetry submitted by Kent State University Honors students. Winners will be chosen in collaboration with the Wick Poetry Center.


  • These awards are nonrenewable. Undergraduates may reapply.
  • The competition is open to any Honors undergraduate currently enrolled at Kent State University.
  • The scholarship awards are to Kent State University only.
  • All entries must be original and unpublished.
  • Each entrant may submit one poem only.
  • The poem should be no more than 100 lines long.
  • The poet’s name should not appear on the poem.
  • In the cover letter section of this form, poets must write their name, address, email and telephone number.
  • Entries must be submitted between March 1, 2021 and April 1, 2021.

Additionally, the regional honors literary and arts magazine Brainchild will consider publishing the winning poem in the following year's edition.

Submit online

2021 Winners and Finalists

1st Place: Olivia Meyer for  “You Are Who I Love”
2nd Place: Olivia Farina for “If old white men wrote more poems about flowers”
3rd Place: Gabriella Clingman: for “Messenger of Joy”

FINALISTS: Clara Britton, Haley Rixon, Angelina DiFranco, Olivia Wachtel, Christian Zupsic