Maggie Anderson Travel Scholarship

Maggie AndersonThe Maggie Anderson Endowment Fund aims to assist talented writing students at Kent State University with writing-related travel expenses. Funds may be used to offset the costs of writers’ conferences, workshops, and readings, as well as to establish exchange programs with other organizations.



  • You must be a current Kent State University student.
  • You must not have received a Maggie Anderson Endowment scholarship in the past.
  • Submissions must include 10 pages (or poems) of a creative writing sample.
  • All entries must be original and may be simultaneously submitted to other publications.
  • Submissions must include a separate cover letter explaining why and how a scholarship would assist you and your writing-related travel.


The application period for the scholarship is between November 8, 2023 and April 1, 2024. Once we receive the submissions, a selection committee will review all applications and make a recommendation for funding to David Hassler, executive director of the Wick Poetry Center. 

Maggie Anderson, poet, professor emerita of English and the founding director of the Wick Poetry Center, created the fund after her retirement from Kent State University in 2009. This legacy gift speaks to the powerful role that travel can play in a writer’s life and honors Anderson’s profound contribution to poetry. Anderson herself has traveled to several states and countries in the name of poetry and boasts an award-winning catalog of work distinctly shaped by those experiences.


2024 Winner:

Anna Swan


2023 Winner:

Sergio Roper


2022 Winner: 

Olivia Farina 

2021 Winner: 

Irving Benitez