Neurosciences Faculty | Kent State University

Learn more about the Neuroscience Program faculty at Kent State University. All of our faculty members have extensive educational backgrounds that enable them to be great sources of industry information and insights. Feel free to contact any of our Neuroscience Program faculty listed below by clicking on the link to their email address.

Name Email Phone Specialty
Jianxin Bao jbao@neomed.edu 330-325-6445 Ph.D., University of Florida.  Aging, Auditory Neuroscience, Gene Therapy, Stem Cell Therapy, Presbycusis, Noise-Induced Hearing Loss, Tinnitus.
James L. Blank jblank@kent.edu 330-672-2984 Ph.D., Indiana University. Neuroendocrine regulation of gonadal function, environmental regulation of seasonal breeding cycles, behavioral endocrinology. More on Blank
Heather Caldwell hcaldwel@kent.edu 330-672-3636 Ph.D., Georgia State University. Neuropeptide regulation of social behaviors and neuropyschiatric disorders. More on Caldwell
Gemma Casadesus-Smith gcasades@kent.edu 330-672-7894 Ph.D., Tufts University.  Neurobiology and neuroendocrinology of learning and memory in aging and Alzheimer's disease. More on Casadesus-Smith
Yeong-Renn Chen ychen1@neomed.edu 330-325-6537 Ph.D., Oklahoma State University.
Wilson Chung wchung@kent.edu 330-672-3641 Ph.D., University of Amsterdam. Neuroendocrine brain, androgens, fibroblast growth factor signaling. More on Chung
Robert Clements rclement@kent.edu 330-672-2984 Ph.D., Kent State University. More on Clements
Christine Crish ccrish@neomed.edu 330-325-6598 Ph.D., Vanderbilt University. Glaucoma, neurodegeneration, and bone loss in Alzheimer's disease. More on Crish
Samuel Crish scrish@neomed.edu 330-325-6680 Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago. Glaucoma, axonal transport, structures and functions. More on Crish
Derek Damron ddamron@kent.edu 330-672-3370 Ph.D., Kent State University. Cardiac myocytes, signal transduction, protein kinases, contractility, anesthetic agents, calcium, cardiovascular disease. More on Damron
Altaf Darvesh adarvesh@neomed.edu 330-325-6658 Ph.D., University of Cincinnati. Development of antioxidant and anti-inflammatory strategies for neoplastic an neurodegenerative diseases, as well as psychiatric disorders. More on Darvesh
Vanessa Fitsanakis vfitsanakis@neomed.edu 330-325-6396 Ph.D., Vanderbilt University.
Sheila Fleming sfleming1@neomed.edu 330-325-6568 Ph.D., Arizona State University.
Stephen B. Fountain sfountain@kent.edu 330-672-3826 Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University. Neural and psychological basis of learning, memory and cognition; neurobehavioral toxicology. More on Fountain
Ernest J. Freeman efreema2@kent.edu 330-672-2383 Ph.D., Kent State University. Mechanisms of neurodegeneration, multiple sclerosis, mitochondrial function, glutamate, GABA and neuronal energy. More on Freeman
Alexander V. Galazyuk agalaz@neomed.edu 330-325-6640 Ph.D., A.A. Bogomoletz Inst. Physiol. Neuroscience of hearing, critical role of timing in sound processing. More on Galazyuk
Rebecca German rgerman@neomed.edu 410-325-6299 Ph.D. Harvard University. Neurophysiology and biomechanics.  Regulation of feeding and pathophysiology of dysphagia. More on German
J. David Glass jglass@kent.edu 330-672-2934 Ph.D. Wesleyan University. More on Glass
Jasmine Grimsley jgrimsley@neomed.edu 330-325-6610 Ph.D. MRC Institute of Hearing Research.  Vocal communication, the neuroscience of hearing, and the underlying mechanisms of communication disorders. More on Grimsley
Muhammad Hossain mhossain@neomed.edu 330-325-6471 Ph.D., Gifu University.
Denise Inman dinman@neomed.edu 330-325-6449 Ph.D., University of Virginia. Neurodegeneration in glaucoma, gliosis, neural-glial interactions. More on Inman
Aaron Jasnow ajasnow@kent.edu 330-672-2137 Ph.D., Georgia State University. More on Jasnow
John D. Johnson jjohns72@kent.edu 330-672-3849 Ph.D., University of Colorado. Neural-immune interactions, brain cytokines, mood, behavior, stress and immunity. More on Johnson
John Lovell jlovell@stark.kent.edu 330-244-3427 Ph.D., Kent State University. Spinal processing of acute and chronic pain states - effects of age and gender. More on Lovell
Yong Lu ylu@neomed.edu 330-325-6656 Ph.D., Univ. Missouri-Columbia. Neurotransmitter systems, GABA, glutamate, audition. More on Lu
William P. Lynch wonk@neomed.edu 330-325-6137 Ph.D., Cornell University. Mechanisms of neurodegeneration, CNS gene therapy, RNA tumor virus pathogenesis, microglia development. More on Lynch
Jennifer A. McDonough jmcdonou@kent.edu 330-672-2383 Ph.D., Case Western Reserve University. Regenerative medicine, mitochondrial dysfunction and epigenetic mechanisms in multiple sclerosis. More on McDonough
Jeffrey Mellott jmellott@neomed.edu 330-325-6625 PhD., University of Texas at Dallas.
Eric M. Mintz emintz@kent.edu 330-672-3847 Ph.D., University of California, Santa Cruz. Behavioral neurobiology, circadian rhythms, feeding, and social behavior, sex differences in biological rhythms. More on Mintz
Colleen Novak cnovak13@kent.edu 330-672-3613 Ph.D., Michigan State University. Neural and endocrine mechanisms of thermogenesis in obesity, photic and nonphotic influences on the circadian clock. More on Novak
Moses Oyewumi moyewumi@neomed.edu 330-325-6669 Ph.D., University of Kentucky. Drug delivery, nanotechnology, cancer, neurodegenerative diseases. More on Oyewumi
Mary Ann Raghanti mraghant@kent.edu 330-672-9354 Ph.D., Kent State University. Comparative neurobiology, evolution, cognition, behavior. More on Raghanti
Jason Richardson jrichardson@neomed.edu 330-325-6657 Ph.D., Mississippi State University. Resarch Focus on fundamental and translational research in neurodegeneration and conditions linked to the aging brain
Angela Ridgel aridgel@kent.edu 330-672-7495 Ph.D., Marshall University. More on Ridgel
Merri J. Rosen mrosen@neomed.edu 330-325-6516 Ph.D., Duke University. Neural correlates of auditory perception: effects of hearing loss and experience during development. More on Rosen
Brett R. Schofield bschofie@neomed.edu 330-325-6655 Ph.D., Duke University. Functional anatomy of auditory pathways. More on Schofield
Sean L. Veney sveney@kent.edu 330-672-3325 Ph.D., University of Virginia. Behavioral neuroendocrinology, sexual differentiation of the brain, syrinx anatomy, neuroethology of birdsong. More on Veney
Kristy Welshhans kwelshha@kent.edu 330-672-2957 Ph.D., Georgia State University. Neural development, axon growth and guidance, local translation, Down syndrome. More on Welshhans
Jeffrey J. Wenstrup jjw@neomed.edu 330-325-6630 Ph.D., Indiana University. Neural mechanisms of hearing and acoustic communication, including emotional responses to sound. More on Wenstrup