Faculty & Departmental Advisors

Faculty and Department Roles within Academic Advising

  • As a primary expert in their field of research they may provide advice for internships, graduate school, and careers
  • Assist with major/minor elective courses, and sequencing

Africana Studies

Program Advisor Location Email Phone
Africana Studies Dr. Kumah-Abiwu Oscar Ritchie Hall fkumahab@kent.edu 330-672-2300

Anthropology

Program Advisor Location Email Phone
Archaeology (B.S.) Dr. Eren 215 Lowry Hall meren@kent.edu 330-672-9353
Biological Anthropology (B.S.) Dr. Meindl 222 Lowry Hall rmeindl@kent.edu 330-672-4363
Biological Anthropology (B.S.) Dr. Tosi 238 Lowry Hall atosi@kent.edu 330-672-5121
Cultural Anthropology (B.A.) Dr. Cimino 236 Lowry Hall acimino1@kent.edu 330-672-3043
Forensic Anthropology Minor Dr. Spurlock 235-237 Lowry Hall lspurloc@kent.edu 330-672-5972
Forensic Anthropology Minor Dr. Tosi 238 Lowry Hall atosi@kent.edu 330-672-5121

Biological Sciences

To request a permit (Special Approval/Prerequisite) to enroll in a course offered through Biological Sciences, please email bscipermit@kent.edu

Program Advisor Location Email Phone
Undergraduate Coordinator;
Transfer Student and Regional Campus;
Student Faculty Advisor Assignments 
Dr. Kooijman 256 Cunningham Hall  ekooijma@kent.edu 330-672-8568
Academic Advisor Joan Iacobacci 256 Cunningham Hall jiacobac@kent.edu 330-672-2984
Biology (B.A.); Last Names (A-J) Dr. Rocha 125 Cunningham Hall  orocha@kent.edu 330-672-2297
Biology (B.A.); Last Names (K-Z) Dr. Vash 121 Cunningham Hall  srvash@kent.edu 330-672-3617
Biology- Molecular/Cellular; Last Names (A-L) Dr. Lamichhaney  41 Cunningham Hall  slamichh@kent.edu 330-672-2764
Biology- Molecular/Cellular; Last Names (M-Z) Dr. Kurokawa 108 Cunningham Hall mkurokaw@kent.edu 330-672-2979
Biology- Organismal; Last Names (A-H) Dr. Bade  119 Cunningham Hall  dbade@kent.edu 330-672-4639
Biology- Organismal; Last Names (I-Z) Dr. Mou  251B Integrated Sciences Building xmou@kent.edu 330-672-3625
Biotechnology Dr. Kooijman  312J Williams Hall  ekooijma@kent.edu 330-672-8568
Botany  Joan Iacobacci (Spring 2023)  256 Cunningham Hall  jiacobac@kent.edu 330-672-2984
Environmental & Conservation Biology; Last Names (A-K) Dr. de Szalay  205 Cunningham Hall  fdeszala@kent.edu 330-672-7936
Environmental & Conservation Biology; Last Names (L-Z) Dr. Ward  229 Cunningham Hall  dward21@kent.edu 330-672-9394
Medical Laboratory Science Dr. Chiu 105 Cunningham Hall  cchiu5@kent.edu 330-672-2945
Neuroscience Dr. Chung 229 Cunningham Hall wchung@kent.edu 330-672-3641
Biology- Pre-Medicine; Last Names (A-B) Dr. Hegmann  251A Integrated Sciences Building ehegmann@kent.edu 330-672-1584
Biology- Pre-Medicine; Last Names (C-E) Dr. W. Kim  118 Cunningham Hall  wkim2@kent.edu 330-672-7888
Biology- Pre-Medicine; Last Names (F-J) Dr. Damron  251E Integrated Sciences Building ddamron@kent.edu 330-672-3370
Biology- Pre-Medicine; Last Names (K-N) Dr. McDonough  251H Integrated Sciences Building jmcdonou@kent.edu 330-672-2388
Biology- Pre-Medicine; Last Names (O-Sh) Dr. Caldwell  114 Cunningham Hall  hcaldwel@kent.edu 330-672-3636
Biology- Pre-Medicine; Last Names (Si-Z) Dr. Novak  233 Cunningham Hall  cnovak13@kent.edu 330-672-2306
Zoology; Last Names (A-D) Dr. Grafton  43 Cunningham Hall  bgrafton@kent.edu 330-672-2935
Zoology; Last Names (E-K) Dr. Tinkler  27 Cunningham Hall  gtinkler@kent.edu 330-672-3912
Zoology; Last Names (L-R) Dr. Hoeh  15 Cunningham Hall  whoeh@kent.edu 330-672-9573
Zoology; Last Names (S-Z) Dr. Bahlai  209 Cunningham Hall  cbahlai@kent.edu 330-672-9775

Chemistry

Program Advisor Location Email Phone
(B.S.) Chemistry with Chemistry or Industrial Chemistry concentration;
(B.A.) Chemistry
Dr. Bunge  311E Williams Hall sbunge@kent.edu  330-672-9445
(B.S.) Chemistry with Biochemistry concentration Dr. Zheng   228 Integrated Sciences Building yzheng7@kent.edu 330-672-2267
(B.S.) Chemistry with Biochemistry/Prepharmacy concentration Dr. Stroup  138 Science Research Building dstroup1@kent.edu 330-672-3352
(B.S.) Chemistry with Biochemistry -- Pre-Medicine/Pre-Osteopathy/Pre-Dentistry concentration Dr. Stroup  138 Science Research Building dstroup1@kent.edu 330-672-3352
Chemistry Minor Dr. Bunge  311E Williams Hall sbunge@kent.edu 330-672-9445
Transfer students and course substitutions Dr. Seed  118 Science Research Building aseed@kent.edu 330-672-9528
University of Leicester Exchange Program Dr. Seed  118 Science Research Building aseed@kent.edu 330-672-9528

Computer Science

General inquiries (including prerequisite overrides) should be directed to ugradinfo@cs.kent.edu.

Program Advisor Location Email Phone
All programs Dr. Samba (lead advisor)  272 Math and Computer Science asamba@kent.edu 330-672-9980
All programs Professor Allouzi  272 Math and Computer Science mallouzi@kent.edu 330-672-9102
All programs Dr. Kwangtaek Kim  260 Math and Computer Science kkim17@kent.edu 330-672-9980
All programs Dr. Jong-Hoon Kim  236A Math and Computer Science jkim72@kent.edu 330-672-9060

Criminology/Justice Studies

Refer to Sociology

Economics

Program Advisor Location Email Phone
(B.A.) Economics Dr. Sahajdack 454 Business Adm. tsahajda@kent.edu  330-672-1085

English

To request a permit (Special Approval/Prerequisite) to enroll in an English course, please email engpermit@kent.edu

Program Advisor Location Email Phone
Undergraduate Coordinator; English Dr. Hediger  209-C Satterfield rhediger@kent.edu 330-672-1741
English Mindy Mattingly Uhrig  201-F Satterfield muhrig1@kent.edu 330-672-1719
Teaching English as a Second Language Prof. Abuzeid  203-C Satterfield aabuzeid@kent.edu 330-672-1707
Creative Writing Minor;
Professional and Technical Writing Minor
Mindy Mattingly Uhrig  201-F Satterfield muhrig1@kent.edu 330-672-1719

Environmental Studies

Refer to Geography

Geography

Program Advisor Location Email Phone
Geography major and minor Dr. Widner  405 McGilvrey ewidner@kent.edu 330-672-3226
Environmental Studies (major and minor) Dr. Ward (Fall 2022 only)  440 McGilvrey award60@kent.edu 330-389-1345
Climate Change minor Dr. Cameron Lee  433 McGilvrey cclee@kent.edu 330-672-0360
GIS minor Dr. Scholl  407 McGilvrey ascholl1@kent.edu 330-672-7669
Urban Studies minor Dr. Kaplan  440 McGilvrey dkaplan@kent.edu 330-672-3221

Earth Sciences

Program Advisor Location Email Phone
All programs Dr. Rowan  337 McGilvrey crowan5@kent.edu 330-672-7428
All programs Dr. Wells  131-A McGIlvrey nwells@kent.edu 330-672-2951
All programs Dr. Schweitzer  345 McGilvrey cschweit@kent.edu 330-672-3303 or 330-672-2505

Health Care Ethics Minor

Program Advisor Location Email Phone
Health Care Ethics Minor Dr. Barnbaum  320 Bowman Hall  dbarnbau@kent.edu  330-672-2315

History

Program Advisor Location Email Phone
Undergraduate Coordinator; All Programs Dr. Bindas  305 Bowman Hall kbindas@kent.edu  330-672-2882

Integrative Studies

Refer to Bachelor of Integrative Studies in Multidisciplinary Social Sciences and Humanities

International Relations

Refer to Multidisciplinary Social Sciences and Humanities

Jewish Studies

Refer to Multidisciplinary Social Sciences and Humanities

Mathematical Sciences

Program Advisor Location Email Phone
Assistant Chair; All Programs  Dr. Lewis  210 MSB mllewis@kent.edu 330-672-9033
Undergraduate Coordinator; All Programs  Dr. Zheng  320 MSB xzheng3@kent.edu 330-672-9089
 (B.S.) Actuarial Mathematics  Dr. Kracht  347 MSB dkracht@kent.edu 330-672-9093

Medical Laboratory Science

Refer to Biological Sciences Department

Classical Language Studies

Declared MCLS majors and minors should check their GPS audit to find their faculty advisor.

All unassigned students and prospective students should contact the faculty listed below.

Program Advisor Location Email Phone
American Sign Language Dr. Carduner (ASL major and minor advising)  305 B Satterfield Hall  jcardune@kent.edu 330-672-1806
American Sign Language Dr. Nehring (ASL Placement)  308 G Satterfield Hall lnehring@kent.edu 330-672-1808
Arabic minor Dr. Carduner  305 B Satterfield Hall  jcardune@kent.edu 330-672-1806
Chinese minor Prof. Hui Yu  309 F Satterfield Hall  hyu5@kent.edu 330-672-1863
Classics/Latin Dr. Harvey  308 B Satterfield Hall  bkharvey@kent.edu 330-672-1804
Education Minor & Teacher Licensure Dr. Chism  101C Satterfield Hall  rlchism@kent.edu 330-672-1825
French Dr. De Julio  305 C Satterfield Hall  mdejulio@kent.edu 330-672-1807
German Dr. Libbon  109 E Satterfield Hall  slibbon@kent.edu 330-672-1811
German Dr. Rossoll  309 E Satterfield Hall  hrossoll@kent.edu 330-672-1833
Italian minor Prof. Stephanie Siciarz  109 D Satterfield Hall  ssiciarz@kent.edu 330-672-1810
Italian Studies minor Dr. Stasiowski  128 B Bowman Hall  kstasiow@kent.edu 330-672-1809
Japanese minor Prof. Eriko Tanaka  309 F Satterfield Hall  etanaka1@kent.edu 330-672-1803
Russian Dr. Trzeciak-Huss  306 B Satterfield Hall  jtrzecia@kent.edu 330-672-1832
Russian Dr. Baer  307 B Satterfield Hall  bbaer@kent.edu 330-672-1813
Spanish Dr. Hermosilla  309 B Satterfield Hall  lhermosi@kent.edu 330-672-1830
Spanish Dr. Rivera  Satterfield Hall  orivera@kent.edu  330-672-1829
(B.S.) Translation Dr. Carduner  305B Satterfield Hall  jcardune@kent.edu 330-672-1806
Newly declared MCLS majors seeking faculty advisor assignments;
Transfer course evaluations;
Alternative credit; 
Special approval/overrides for non-language majors;
Foreign language waivers for native speakers of another language
Dr. Carduner  305B Satterfield Hall  jcardune@kent.edu 330-672-1806

Multidisciplinary Social Sciences and Humanities, School of

MAJORS

Program Advisor Location Email Phone
International Relations Dr. Barnes  113 Bowman abarnes3@kent.edu  
Paralegal Studies Prof. Paar Conroy  113 Bowman apaar@kent.edu  
Bachelor of Integrative Studies (BIS) Dr. Odell-Scott  113 Bowman dodellsc@kent.edu 330-672-2062

MINORS

Program Advisor Location Email Phone
Ancient, Medieval and Renaissance Studies Dr. Starkey (Kent) Kent Campus lstarke3@kent.edu 330-672-6774
Ancient, Medieval and Renaissance Studies Dr. Martinez (Stark) Stark Campus amart108@kent.edu 330-672-6774
History and Philosophy of Science Dr. Mazzei 113 Bowman jmazzei@kent.edu 330-672-6774
Jewish Studies Prof. Kessler 113 Bowman ckessle7@kent.edu 330-672-6774
Latin American Studies Dr. Mazzei 113 Bowman jmazzei@kent.edu 330-672-6774
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Studies Dr. Vachon 113 Bowman lvachon@kent.edu 330-672-6774
Paralegal Studies Prof. Paar Conroy 113 Bowman apaar@kent.edu 330-672-6774
Religion Studies Dr. Odell-Scott 113 Bowman dodellsc@kent.edu 330-672-6774
Studies in Globalization, Identity, and Space Dr. Mazzei 113 Bowman jmazzei@kent.edu 330-672-6774
Urban Studies Dr. Kaplan 440 McGilvrey dkaplan@kent.edu 330-672-3221
Women's Studies Dr. Holt 113 Bowman slholt@kent.edu 330-672-6772
World Literature and Cultures Dr. Mazzei 113 Bowman jmazzei@kent.edu 330-672-6774

Paralegal Studies

Refer to Multidisciplinary Social Sciences and Humanities

Peace and Conflict Studies, School of

Program Advisor Location Email Phone
Undergraduate Coordinator/Advisor Prof. Cunningham  113D McGilvrey Hall kcunning@kent.edu 330-672-8943
Undergraduate Advisor Assoc. Prof. Bleak  115A McGilvrey Hall jbleak@kent.edu 330-672-0355
Advisor, all programs Dr. Hancock  113B McGilvrey Hall lhancoc2@kent.edu 330-672-0904

Philosophy

Program Advisor Location Email Phone
All Programs Dr. Kim Garchar  320 Bowman Hall kgarchar@kent.edu 330-672-0276

Physics

Program Advisor Location Email Phone
Undergraduate Coordinator; Physics  Dr. Hamza Balci  123 Science Research Building hbalci@kent.edu 330-672-2577
Physics Dr. Balci  123 Science Research Bldg hbalci@kent.edu 330-672-2577
Physics Dr. Katramatou  303 Smith Hall akatrama@kent.edu 330-672-0330
Physics Dr. Mann  140 Science Research Building emann@kent.edu 330-672-9750
Physics Dr. Secaur  120 Smith Hall jsecaur@kent.edu 330-672-2246
Physics Dr. Selinger  321 AMLCI rselinge@kent.edu 330-672-1582
Physics Dr. Strickland  206B Smith Hall mstrick6@kent.edu 330-672-3771
Pre-Medicine/Pre-Osteopathy/Pre-Podiatry Dr. Mann  140 Science Research Building emann@kent.edu 330-672-9750
SPS Advisor Dr. Petratos  314 Smith Hall gpetrato@kent.edu 330-672-5408
Transfer Credit; Transient Coursework Dr. Almasan  002 Science Research Bldg. calmasan@kent.edu 330-672-2402

Political Science

All Political Science majors have an assigned faculty advisor in the department. Please call the main office at (330) 672-2060 to be connected to this individual.

Program Advisor Location Email Phone
Political Science (includes Global Studies), Undergraduate Coordinator Dr. Ensley  302 Bowman Hall mensley@kent.edu 330-672-8933
Washington/National Issues Dr. Cassell  302 Bowman Hall mcassell@kent.edu 330-672-8945
Columbus/Inter-Gov. Issues Wendy Patton  302 Bowman Hall wpatton4@kent.edu 330-672-2775

Pre-Law Minor

Program Advisor Location Email Phone
Pre-Law Minor Dr. Banks  302 Bowman Hall cbanks6@kent.edu 330-672-0908

Psychology

Learn how to connect to a faculty advisor in the Department of Psychological Sciences HERE.

Title Advisor Building Location Email Phone
Psychological Sciences Undergraduate Coordinator Dr. Folk 205 Kent Hall Addition jfolk@kent.edu 330-672-4095
Psychological Sciences Undergraduate Departmental Advisor Stephanie Bibo 144G Kent Hall sbibo@kent.edu 330-672-0665

Sociology

Title Advisor Building Location Email Phone
Criminology & Justice Studies and Sociology Coordinator Dr. Taylor 304 Merrill Hall ttaylo36@kent.edu 330-672-9474
Criminology & Justice Studies and Sociology Academic Advisor Rebecca Cash 315/319 Merrill Hall rcash5@kent.edu 330-672-9007