Faculty & Departmental Advisors

Our ROLES WITHIN ACADEMIC ADVISING...

  • As a primary expert in their field of research they may provide advice for internships, graduate school, and careers

  • Assist with major/minor elective courses, and course sequencing

 

 

Anthropology

Program

Faculty Advisor

Email

Phone

Archaeology (B.S.)

Dr. Eren, 215 Lowry Hall

meren@kent.edu

330-672-9353

Biological Anthropology (B.S.)

Dr. Meindl, 222 Lowry Hall

Dr. Tosi, 238 Lowry Hall

rmeindl@kent.edu

atosi@kent.edu

330-672-4363

330-672-5121

Cultural Anthropology (B.A.)

Dr. Fotiou, 221 Lowry Hall

efotiou@kent.edu

330-672-6862

Forensic Anthropology Minor

Dr. Spurlock, 235-237 Lowry Hall
Dr. Tosi, 238 Lowry Hall

lspurloc@kent.edu  atosi@kent.edu

330-672-5972                            330-672-5121

Biological Sciences

To request a permit (Special Approval/Prerequisite) to enroll in a course offered through Biological Sciences, please email bscipermit@kent.edu

Program

 

Faculty & Departmental Advisors

Email

Phone

Biological Sciences

Undergraduate Coordinator
Dr. Fraizer, 251 Cunningham

gfraizer@kent.edu

330-672-1398

 

Academic Advisor
Joan Iacobacci, Cunningham

jiacobac@kent.edu

330-672-2984

Biology (B.A.)

Dr. Rocha, 125 Cunningham (A-Z)

orocha@kent.edu

330-672-2297

Biology (B.S.)
Molecular/Cellular

Dr.  Casadesus, 115A Cunningham (A-D)

gcasades@kent.edu

330-672-7894

 

Dr. Clements, 251D ISB (E-Ma)

rclement@kent.edu

330-672-2720

 

Dr. Kurokawa, 211 Cunningham (Mb-Z)

mkurokaw@kent.edu

330-672-2979

Organismal

Dr. Bade, 119 Cunningham (A-J)

dbade@kent.edu

330-672-4639

 

Dr. Mou, 251B ISB (K-Z)

xmou@kent.edu

330-672-3625

Biotechnology (B.S.)

Dr. Kooijman, 312J Williams (A-K)

ekooijma@kent.edu

330-672-8568

 

Dr. Kim, 312G Williams (L-Z)

mkim15@kent.edu

330-672-1445

Botany (B.S.)

Dr. Case, 218 Cunningham (A-Z)

acase@kent.edu

330-672-3699

Environmental & Conservation Biology

Dr. de Szalay, 205 Cunningham (A-L)

fdeszala@kent.edu

330-672-7936

 

Dr. Ward, 229 Cunningham (M-Z)

dward21@kent.edu

330-672-9394

Medical Technology (B.S.)

Dr. Chiu, 105 Cunningham (A-Z)

cchiu5@kent.edu

330-672-2945

Neuroscience (B.S.)

Dr. Chung, 53 Cunningham (A-Z)

 

wchung@kent.edu

 

330-672-3641

Pre-Medicine

Dr. Hegmann, 251A ISB (A-B)

ehegmann@kent.edu

330-672-1584

 

Dr. W. Kim, 118 Cunningham (C-E)

wkim2@kent.edu

330-672-7888

 

Dr. Damron, 251E ISB (F-H)

ddamron@kent.edu

330-672-3370

 

Dr. McDonough, 251H ISB (I-Ma)

jmcdonou@kent.edu

330-672-2388

 

Dr. Caldwell, 114 Cunningham (Mb-P)

hcaldwel@kent.edu

330-672-3636

 

Dr. Novak, 233 Cunningham (Q-So)

cnovak13@kent.edu

330-672-2306

 

Dr. Welshhans, 312K Williams (Sp-Z)

kwelshha@kent.edu

330-672-2957

Zoology

Dr. Kershner, 49 Cunningham (A-D)

mkershne@kent.edu

330-672-2738

 

Dr. Costello, 217 Cunningham (E-J)

dcostel3@kent.edu

330-672-2035

 

Dr. Tinkler, 27 Cunningham (K-M)

gtinkler@kent.edu

330-672-3912

 

Dr. Hoeh, 15 Cunningham (N-Sc)

whoeh@kent.edu

330-672-9573

 

Dr. Bahlai, 209 Cunningham (Sd-Z)

cbahlai@kent.edu

330-672-9775

Transfer Student and Regional Campus

Student Faculty Advisor Assignments 

Dr. Fraizer, 256 Cunningham

gfraizer@kent.edu

330-672-1398

 

Chemistry/Biochemistry

 

Program

Faculty Advisor

Email

Phone

BS Chemistry with Chemistry concentration, Industrial Chemistry concentration, and BA Chemistry

Dr. Bunge, 311E Williams Hall

sbunge@kent.edu 

330-672-9445

BS Chemistry with Biochemistry/Prepharmacy

Dr. Fenk, 332 Integrated Sciences Building

cfenk@kent.edu

330-672-3126

BS Chemistry with Biochemistry -
Premedicine concentration

Dr. Stroup, 138 Science Research Building

dstroup1@kent.edu

330-672-3352

BS Chemistry with Biochemistry concentration

Dr. Zheng, 228 Integrated Sciences Building

yzheng7@kent.edu

330-672-2267

BS Chemistry with Materials

concentration

Dr. Seed, 118 Science Research Building

aseed@kent.edu

330-672-9528

Transfer students, course
substitutions, course equivalencies,
Chemistry minor, University of Leicester Exchange Program

Dr. Seed, 118 Science Research Building

aseed@kent.edu

330-672-9528

Computer Science

Faculty Advisor

Email

Phone

Dr. Samba (lead advisor), 272 Math and Computer Science

asamba@kent.edu

330-672-9980

Professor Allouzi, 272 Math and Computer Science

mallouzi@kent.edu

330-672-9102

Dr. Volkert, 216 Math and Computer Science

lvolkert@kent.edu

330-672-9037

Dr. Walker, 256 Math and Computer Science

rawalke1@kent.edu

330-672-9050

Criminology/Justice Studies

Refer to Sociology listing.

Economics

Faculty Advisor

Email

Phone

Dr. Sahajdack,  454 Business Adm.

tsahajda@kent.edu 

330-672-1085

English

To request a permit (Special Approval/Prerequisite) to enroll in an English course, please email engpermit@kent.edu

Program

Faculty Advisor

Email

Phone

English

Undergraduate Coordinator
Dr. Hediger, 209-C Satterfield

rhediger@kent.edu

330-672-1741

Teaching English as a Second Language

Prof. Abuzeid, 203-C Satterfield

aabuzied@kent.edu

330-672-1707

Creative Writing Minor


Dr. Hediger, 209-C Satterfield

rhediger@kent.edu

330-672-1741

Professional and Technical Writing Minor

Dr. Hediger, 209-C Satterfield

rhediger@kent.edu

330-672-1741

Environmental Studies

Refer to Geography listing.

Geography

Program

Faculty Advisor

Email

Phone

Geography major and minor

Dr. Mapes, 439 McGilvrey

jmapes@kent.edu

330-672-2045

Environmental Studies

Dr. Kaplan, 440 McGilvrey

dkaplan@kent.edu

330-672-3221

Climate Change minor

Dr. Cameron Lee, 433 McGilvrey

cclee@kent.edu

330-672-0360

GIS minor

Dr. Scholl, 407 McGilvrey

ascholl1@kent.edu

330-672-7669

Urban Studies and Planning minor (also under Interdisciplinary programs)

Dr. Kaplan, 440 McGilvrey

dkaplan@kent.edu

330-672-3221

Geology (Includes Earth Science)

Faculty Advisor

Email

Phone

Dr. Rowan, 337 McGilvrey

crowan5@kent.edu

330-672-7428

Dr. Singer, 211 McGilvrey

dsinger4@kent.edu

330-672-3306

Dr. Wells, 131-A McGIlvrey

nwells@kent.edu

330-672-2951

Dr. Schweitzer, 345 McGilvrey

cschweit@kent.edu

330-672-3303

History

Faculty Advisor

Email

Phone

Undergraduate Coordinator,

Dr. Crawford, 305 Bowman

mcrawf11@kent.edu 

330-672-8913

Interdisciplinary Minors

Minor

Faculty Advisor

Email

Phone

Ancient, Medieval &

Renaissance Studies

Dr. Fein, 113-G Satterfield

Dr. Thyret, 305 Bowman

sfein@kent.edu

ithyret@kent.edu

330-672-1784

330-672-8912

Health Care Ethics

Dr. Barnbaum, 320 Bowman

dbarnbau@kent.edu

330-672-2315

History and Philosophy of Science

Center for Integrative Programs, 

105 Bowman Hall

dodellsc@kent.edu

330-672-2062

Jewish Studies

Prof. Kessler, 113 Bowman

ckessle7@kent.edu

330-672-8962

Latin American Studies

Center for Integrative Programs, 

105 Bowman Hall

dodellsc@kent.edu

330-672-2062

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and

Transgendered Studies

Dr. Merryman, 325 Merrill

mmerryma@kent.edu

330-672-0315

Pre-law

Prof. Paar Conroy, 113 Bowman

apaar@kent.edu

330-672-4148

Religion Studies

Center for Integrative Programs, 

105 Bowman Hall

dodellsc@kent.edu

330-672-2062

Studies in Globalization, Identity, 

and Space

Center for Integrative Programs,

105 Bowman

dodellsc@kent.edu

330-672-2062

Urban Studies and Planning

Dr. Kaplan,440 McGilvrey

dkaplan@kent.edu

330-672-3221

Women's Studies

Dr. Holt, 315 Merrill Hall

slholt@kent.edu

330-672-8042

World Literature and Cultures

Center for Integrative Programs, 

105 Bowman Hall

dodellsc@kent.edu

330-672-2062

 

Integrative Studies

Refer to Bachelor of Integrative Studies

International Relations

Refer to Political Science.

Jewish Studies

Faculty Advisor

Email

Phone

Prof. Kessler, 113 Bowman Hall

ckessle7@kent.edu

330-672-8962

Mathematical Sciences

Faculty Advisor

Email

Phone

Assistant Chair, Dr. Lewis, 210 MSB

mllewis@kent.edu

330-672-9033

Undergraduate Coordinator, Dr. Zheng, 320 MSB

xzheng3@kent.edu

330-672-9089

Actuarial Math, Dr. Kracht, 347 MSB

dkracht@kent.edu

330-672-9093

Medical Technology

Refer to Biological Sciences.

Modern & Classical Language Studies

Declared MCLS majors and minors should check their GPS audit to find their faculty advisor.  
All unassigned students and prospective students should contact the faculty listed below.

Program

Faculty Advisor

Email

Phone

American Sign Language

Dr. Randall Hogue, 101E Satterfield

rhogue2@kent.edu

330-672-1796

Arabic minor

Dr. Carduner, 305B Satterfield

jcardune@kent.edu

330-672-1806

 

Dr. Shiyab, 305E Satterfield

sshiyab@kent.edu

330-672-1864

Chinese minor

Hui Yu, 309 F Satterfield

hyu5@kent.edu

330-672-1863

Classics/Latin

Dr. Harvey, 308B Satterfield

bkharvey@kent.edu

330-672-1804

Education Minor & Teacher Licensure

Dr. Chism, 101C Satterfield

rlchism@kent.edu

330-672-1825

French

Dr. Berrong, 304D Satterfield

rberrong@kent.edu

330-672-1820

 

Dr. De Julio, 305C Satterfield

mdejulio@kent.edu

330-672-1807

German

Dr. Libbon, 109E Satterfield

slibbon@kent.edu

330-672-1811

 

Dr. Rossoll, 309E Satterfield

hrossoll@kent.edu

330-672-1833

Italian minor

Stephanie Siciarz, 109D Satterfield

ssiciarz@kent.edu

330-672-1810

Italian Studies minor

Dr. Stasiowski, 128B Bowman

kstasiow@kent.edu

330-672-1809

Japanese minor

Eriko Tanaka, 309F Satterfield

etanaka1@kent.edu

330-672-1803

Russian

Dr. Trzeciak-Huss, 306B Satterfield

Dr. Baer, 307B Satterfield

jtrzecia@kent.edu

bbaer@kent.edu

330-672-1832

330-672-1813

Spanish

Dr. Carduner, 305B Satterfield

jcardune@kent.edu

330-672-1806

Translation (B.S.)

Dr. Carduner, 305B Satterfield

jcardune@kent.edu

330-672-1806

Newly declared MCLS majors
seeking faculty advisor assignments;
transfer course evaluations;
alternative credit; Special approval/overrides for non-language majors; alternative
credit; transfer course
evaluations; foreign language
waivers for native speakers
of another language

Dr. Carduner, 305B Satterfield

jcardune@kent.edu

330-672-1806

Pan-African Studies

Faculty Advisor

Email

Phone

Dr. Kumah-Abiwu, Oscar Ritchie Hall

fkumahab@kent.edu

330-672-2300

Paralegal Studies

Faculty Advisor

Email

Phone

Prof. Paar Conroy, 113 Bowman Hall

apaar@kent.edu

330-672-4148

Peace and conflict studies, school of

Faculty Advisor

Email

Phone

Prof. Cunningham, 113D McGilvrey Hall

kcunning@kent.edu

330-672-8943

Dr. Hancock, 113B McGilvrey

lhancoc2@kent.edu

330-672-0904

Philosophy

Faculty Advisor

Email

Phone

Dr. Ryan, 320 Bowman Hall

fryan@kent.edu

330-672-0274

Physics

Program

Faculty Advisor

Email

Phone

Physics

Undergraduate Coordinator
Dr. Manley, 217 Smith Hall

manley@kent.edu

330-672-2407

 

Dr. Balci, 123 Science Research Bldg

hbalci@kent.edu

330-672-2577

 

Dr. Katramatou, 303 Smith Hall

akatrama@kent.edu

330-672-0330

 

Dr. Mann, 140 Science Research Building

emann@kent.edu

330-672-9750

 

Dr. Secaur, 120 Smith Hall

jsecaur@kent.edu

330-672-2246

 

Dr. Selinger, 321 AMLCI

rselinge@kent.edu

330-672-1582

 

Dr. Strickland, 206B Smith Hall

mstrick6@kent.edu

330-672-3771

Pre-Medicine/Pre-Osteopathy

Dr. Mann, 140 Science Research Building

emann@kent.edu

330-672-9750

SPS Advisor

Dr. Petratos, 314 Smith Hall

gpetrato@kent.edu

330-672-5408

Transfer Credit; Transient Coursework

Dr. Almasan, 002 Science Research Bldg.

calmasan@kent.edu

330-672-2402

Political Science

All Political Science majors have an assigned faculty advisor in the department.  Please call the main office at (330) 672-2060 to be connected to this individual.

Program

Faculty Advisor

Email

Phone

Political Science (includes Global Studies)

Dr. Stacher, Undergraduate Coordinator


jstacher@kent.edu

330-672-2060

Washington/National Issues (WPNI)

Dr. Robyn, 302 Bowman Hall

rrobyn@kent.edu

330-672-8944

Columbus/Inter-Gov. Issues

Dr. Sykes, 302 Bowman Hall

vsykes@kent.edu

330-672-8948

Psychology

Learn how to connect to a faculty advisor in the Department of Psychological Sciences HERE.

Faculty & Departmental Advisors

Email

Phone

Dr. Thompson, Undergraduate Coordinator, 228 KTA

cthomp77@kent.edu

330-672-3948

Bryce Cain, Senior Academic Advisor II, KTH 144

bcain9@kent.edu

330-672-2912

Aurora Alexander, Academic Advisor II, KTH 144

aalexa37@kent.edu

330-672-0665

Sociology

Faculty & Departmental Advisors

Email

Phone

Criminology and Justice Studies Coordinator
Dr. Tontodonato, 311 Merrill Hall

ptontodo@kent.edu

330-672-0318

Criminology & Justice Studies and Sociology Academic Advisor

Rebecca Cash, 315/319 Merrill Hall

rcash5@kent.edu

330-672-9007

Sociology Coordinator
Dr. Stacey, 331 Merrill Hall

cstacey@kent.edu

330-672-2044