Faculty & Departmental Advisors | Kent State University

Faculty & Departmental Advisors

Our ROLES WITHIN ACADEMIC ADVISING...

  • As a primary expert in their field of research they may provide advice for internships, graduate school, and careers

  • Assist with major/minor elective courses, and course sequencing

 

 

Anthropology

Program Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Archaeology (B.S.) Dr. Spurlock, 235-237 Lowry lspurloc@kent.edu 330-672-9329
Biological Anthropology (B.S.) Dr. Meindle, 226-A Lowry rmeindl@kent.edu 330-672-4363
Cultural Anthropology (B.A.) Dr. Feinberg, 233 Lowry rfeinber@kent.edu 330-672-2722
Forensic Anthropology Minor Dr. Spurlock, 235-237 Lowry
Dr. Tosi, 238 Lowry 
lspurloc@kent.edu  atosi@kent.edu 330-672-9329                            330-672-5121

Applied Conflict Management in the school of school of peace and conflict studies

Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Dr. Coy, Director, 115B McGilvrey Hall   pcoy@kent.edu 330-672-2875
Dr. Hancock, 113B McGilvrey Hall  lhancoc2@kent.edu 330-672-0904

Biological Sciences

Program

 

Faculty & Departmental Advisors Email Phone
Biological Sciences Undergraduate Coordinator
Dr. Fraizer, 251 Cunningham
gfraizer@kent.edu 330-672-1398
  Academic Advisor
Joan Iacobacci, Cunningham
jiacobac@kent.edu 330-672-2984
Biology (B.A.) Dr. Rocha, 125 Cunningham (A-Z) orocha@kent.edu 330-672-2297
Biology (B.S.)
Molecular/Cellular
Dr.  Casadesus, 18 Cunningham (A-H) gcasades@kent.edu 330-672-7894
  Dr. Clements, A311D Cunningham (I-Z) rclement@kent.edu 330-672-2720
Organismal Dr. Bade, 119 Cunningham (A-J) dbade@kent.edu 330-672-4639
  Dr. Mou, 209 Cunningham (K-Z) xmou@kent.edu 330-672-3625
Biotechnology (B.S.)
Dr. Kooijman, 312J Williams (A-Z)
330-672-8568
Botany (B.S.) Dr. Case, 245 Cunningham (A-Z) acase@kent.edu 330-672-3699
 Environmental & Conservation Biology Dr. de Szalay, 205 Cunningham (A-Z) fdeszala@kent.edu 330-672-7936
Medical Technology (B.S.) Dr. Chi-hua Groff, 43 Cunningham (A-Z) cchiu5@@kent.edu 330-672-2945
Pre-Dentistry Joan Iacobacci, 258 Cunningham (A-Z) jiacobac@kent.edu 330-672-2984
Pre-Medicine/Pre-Osteopathy Dr. Caldwell 121 Cunningham (A-Ch) hcaldwel@kent.edu 330-672-3636
  Dr. Chung, 53 Cunningham (Ci-F) wchung@kent.edu 330-672-3641
  Dr. Damron, 115A Cunningham (G-I) ddamron@kent.edu 330-672-3370
  Dr. McDonough, 130A Cunningham (J-L) jmcdonou@kent.edu 330-672-2388
  Dr. Johnson, 114 Cunningham (M-P) jjohns72@kent.edu 330-672-3849
  Dr. Novak, 233 Cunningham (Q-S) cnovak13@kent.edu 330-672-2306
  Dr. Welshhans, 27 Cunningham (T-Z) kwelshha@kent.edu 330-672-2957
Pre-Veterinary Medicine Dr. Adam Leff, 46 Cunningham (A-Z) aleff@kent.edu 330-672-8369
Zoology (B.S.) Dr. Kershner, 49 Cunningham (A-D) mkershne@kent.edu 330-672-2738
  Dr. Koski, 315 Cunningham (E-L) gkoski@kent.edu 330-672-3670
  Dr. Tinkler, 39 Cunningham (M-R) gtinkler@kent.edu 330-672-3912
  Dr. Hoeh, 15 Cunningham (S-Z) whoeh@kent.edu 330-672-9573
Minor in Biology Dr. Adam Leff, 46 Cunningham aleff@kent.edu 330-672-8369
Transfer Student and Regional Campus
Student Faculty Advisor Assignments 
Dr. Fraizer, 256 Cunningham
330-672-1398

 

Chemistry/Biochemistry

 

Program Faculty Advisor Email Phone
BS Chemistry with Chemistry concentration, Industrial Chemistry concentration, and BA Chemistry
 Dr. Tubergen, 34 Science Research Building
330-672-9445
330-672-7079
BS Chemistry with Biochemistry
concentration
Dr. Stroup, 138 Science Research Building
Dr. Gregory, 114 Science Research Building
330-672-3352
330-672-2031
BS Chemistry with Biochemistry -
Pre-medicine concentration
Dr. Gregory, 114 Science Research Building rgregory@kent.edu 330-672-2031
BS Chemistry with Materials
concentration
Dr. Sampson, 208 Williams psampson@kent.edu 330-672-2405
Pre-Medicine Dr. Gregory, 114 Science Research Building rgregory@kent.edu 330-672-2031
Pre-Pharmacy
Dr. Fenk, 332 Integrated Sciences Building
330-672-3126
Transfer students, course
substitutions, course equivalencies,
Chemistry minor, University of Leicester Exchange Program
Dr. Sampson, 208 Williams psampson@kent.edu 330-672-2405

Computer Science

Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Dr. Samba (lead advisor), 272 Math and Computer Science asamba@kent.edu 330-672-9980
Professor Allouzi, 272 Math and Computer Science mallouzi@kent.edu 330-672-9102
Dr. Volkert, 216 Math and Computer Science lvolkert@kent.edu 330-672-9037
Dr. Walker, 256 Math and Computer Science rawalke1@kent.edu 330-672-9050

Criminology/Justice Studies

Refer to Sociology listing.

Economics

Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Dr. Sahajdack,  Business Adm. tsahajda@kent.edu  330-672-2366

English

Program Faculty Advisor Email Phone
English Undergraduate Coordinator
Dr. Sturr, 204-D Satterfield
rsturr@kent.edu 330-672-1727
  Assistant Undergraduate Coordinator
Dr. Winebrenner, 204-A Satterfield
kwinebre@kent.edu 330-672-1735
Teaching English as a Second Language Dr. Sturr, 204-D Satterfield rsturr@kent.edu 330-672-1727
  ESL Center Director
Dr. Rozner, 201 Satterfield Hall
dronzer@kent.edu 330-672-2676
Creative Writing Minor
Dr. Winebrenner, 204-A Satterfield
kwinebre@kent.edu 330-672-1735
Professional and Technical Writing Minor Dr. Sturr, 204-D Satterfield rsturr@kent.edu 330-672-1727

Environmental Studies

Refer to Geography listing.

Geography

  Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Geography major and minor Dr. Mapes, 439 McGilvrey jmapes@kent.edu 330-672-2045
Environmental Studies Dr. Kaplan, 440 McGilvrey dkaplan@kent.edu 330-672-2045
Climatology minor Dr. Sheridan, 413 McGilvrey ssherid1@kent.edu 330-672-3224
GIS minor Dr. Lee, 433 McGilvrey jlee@kent.edu 330-672-3222
Urban Studies and Planning minor (also under Interdisciplinary programs) Dr. Kaplan, 440 McGilvrey dkaplan@kent.edu 330-672-3221

Geology

Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Dr. Rowan, 337 McGilvrey crowan5@kent.edu 330-672-7428
Dr. Smith, 219 McGilvrey alisonjs@kent.edu 330-672-3709
Dr. Wells, 131-A McGIlvrey nwells@kent.edu 330-672-2951
Dr. Schweitzer, 345 McGilvrey cschweit@kent.edu 330-672-3303

History

Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Undergraduate Coordinator,
Dr. Strate, 305 Bowman
sstrate@kent.edu 
330-672-8900

Interdisciplinary Minors

Minor Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Ancient, Medieval &
Renaissance Studies
Dr. Fein, 113-G Satterfield
Dr. Thyret, 305 Bowman
330-672-1784
330-672-8912
Health Care Ethics Dr. Barnbaum, 320 Bowman dbarnbau@kent.edu 330-672-2315
History and Philosophy of Science
Center for Integrative Programs, 
105 Bowman Hall
dodellsc@kent.edu 330-672-2062
Jewish Studies Prof. Kessler, 113 Bowman ckessle7@kent.edu 330-672-8962
Latin American Studies
Center for Integrative Programs, 
105 Bowman Hall
dodellsc@kent.edu 330-672-2062
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and
Transgendered Studies
Dr. Merryman, 325 Merrill
330-672-0315
Pre-law
Prof. Paar Conroy, 113 Bowman
330-672-4148
Religion Studies
Center for Integrative Programs, 
105 Bowman Hall
330-672-2062
Studies in Globalization, Identity, 
and Space
Center for Integrative Programs,
105 Bowman
330-672-2062
Urban Studies and Planning Dr. Kaplan,440 McGilvrey dkaplan@kent.edu 330-672-3221
Women's Studies Dr. Holt, 315 Merrill Hall slholt@kent.edu 330-672-8042
World Literature and Cultures
Center for Integrative Programs, 
105 Bowman Hall
dodellsc@kent.edu 330-672-2062

 

Integrative Studies

Refer to Bachelor of Integrative Studies

International Relations

Refer to Political Science.

Jewish Studies

Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Prof. Kessler, 113 Bowman Hall ckessle7@kent.edu 330-672-8962

Mathematical Sciences

Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Undergraduate Coordinator,
Dr. Lewis, 210 MSB
mllewis@kent.edu 330-672-9033
Actuarial Math, Dr. Kracht, 347 MSB dkracht@kent.edu 330-672-9093
Dr. White, 212 MSB dlwhite@kent.edu 330-672-9034
Allied Area Elective Approval, Advisor Assignment, Transfer Credit, 
Dr. Neuzil, 233C MSB
jneuzil@kent.edu 330-672-9054

Medical Technology

Refer to Biological Sciences.

Modern & Classical Language Studies

Declared MCLS majors and minors should check their GPS audit to find their faculty advisor.  
All unassigned students and prospective students should contact the faculty listed below.
Program Faculty Advisor Email Phone Office
American Sign Language Dr. Randall Hogue
330-672-1796
101-E Satterfield Hall
Arabic minor Dr. Jessie Carduner jcardune@kent.edu 330-672-1806 305-B Satterfield Hall
  Dr. Said Shiyab sshiyab@kent.edu 330-672-1864 305-E Satterfield Hall
Chinese minor Hui Yu hyu5@kent.edu 330-672-1863 309-F Satterfield Hall
Classics/Latin Dr. Brian Harvey bkharvey@kent.edu 330-672-1804 308-B Satterfield Hall
Education Minor & Teacher Licensure Dr. Rebecca Chism rlchism@kent.edu 330-672-1825 101-C Satterfield Hall
French Dr. Richard Berrong rberrong@kent.edu 330-672-1820 304-D Satterfield Hall
  Dr. Maryann De Julio mdejulio@kent.edu 330-672-1807 305-C Satterfield Hall
German Dr. Stephanie Libbon slibbon@kent.edu 330-672-1811 109-E Satterfield Hall
  Dr. Hidegard Rossoll hrossoll@kent.edu 330-672-1833 309-E Satterfield Hall
Italian minor Stephanie Siciarz ssiciarz@kent.edu 330-672-1810 109-D Satterfield Hall
Italian Studies minor Dr. Kristin Stasiowski kstasiow@kent.edu 330-672-1809 128-B Bowman Hall
Japanese minor Eriko Tanaka etanaka1@kent.edu 330-672-1803 309-F Satterfield Hall
Russian Dr. Tatyana Bystrova tbystro2@kent.edu 330-672-1800 304-A Satterfield Hall
Spanish Dr. Jessie Carduner jcardune@kent.edu 330-672-1806 305-B Satterfield Hall
Translation (B.S.) Dr. Joanna Trzeciak-Huss jtrzecia@kent.edu 330-672-1832 306-D Satterfield Hall
Newly declared MCLS majors
seeking faculty advisor assignments;
transfer course evaluations;
alternative credit
Dr. Jessie Carduner, Undergraduate Coordinator jcardune@kent.edu 330-672-1806 305-B Satterfield Hall
Special approval/overrides for
non-language majors; alternative
credit; transfer course
evaluations; foreign language
waivers for native speakers
of another language
Valerie Reed vreed5@kent.edu 330-672-1790 109 Satterfield Hall

Pan-African Studies

Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Dr. Kumah-Abiwu, Oscar Ritchie Hall fkumahab@kent.edu 330-672-2300

Paralegal Studies

Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Prof. Paar Conroy, 113 Bowman Hall apaar@kent.edu 330-672-4148

Philosophy

Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Dr. Zavota, 320 Bowman Hall gzavota@kent.edu 330-672-0266

Physics

Program Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Physics Undergraduate Coordinator
Dr. Manley, 217 Smith Hall
manley@kent.edu 330-672-2407
  Dr. Balci, 123 Science Research Bldg hbalci@kent.edu 330-672-2577
  Dr. Katramatou, 303 Smith Hall akatrama@kent.edu 330-672-0330
  Dr. Mann, 140 Science Research Building emann@kent.edu 330-672-9750
  Dr. Secaur, 120 Smith Hall jsecaur@kent.edu 330-672-2246
  Dr. Strickland, 206B Smith Hall mstrick6@kent.edu 330-672-3771
Pre-Medicine/Pre-Osteopathy Dr. Mann, 140 Science Research Building emann@kent.edu 330-672-9750
SPS Advisor Dr. Sprunt, 104 Science Research Bldg ssprunt@kent.edu 330-672-2682
Transfer Credit; Transient Coursework Dr. Almasan, 002 Science Research Bldg. calmasan@kent.edu 330-672-2402

Political Science

All Political Science majors have an assigned faculty advisor in the department.  Please call the main office at (330) 672-2060 to be connected to this person.

Program Faculty Advisor Email Phone
Political Science (includes International Relations) Dr. Stacher, Undergraduate Coordinator
jstacher@kent.edu
330-672-2060
Washington/National Issues (WPNI) Dr. Robyn, 302 Bowman Hall rrobyn@kent.edu 330-672-8944
Columbus/Inter-Gov. Issues
Dr. Sykes, 302 Bowman Hall
vsykes@kent.edu 330-672-8948

Psychology

Learn how to connect to a faculty advisor in the Department of Psychological Sciences HERE.

Faculty & Departmental Advisors Email Phone
Dr. Hughes, Undergraduate Coordinator, 326 KTA
330-672-7721
Bryce Cain, Senior Academic Advisor I, KTH 144 bcain9@kent.edu 330-672-2912
Aurora Alexander, Academic Advisor I, KTH 144 aalexa37@kent.edu 330-672-0665

Sociology

Faculty & Departmental Advisors Email Phone
Criminology and Justice Studies Coordinator
Dr. Tontodonato, 311 Merrill Hall
ptontodo@kent.edu 330-672-0318
Criminology & Justice Studies and Sociology Academic Advisor
Rebecca Cash, 315/319 Merrill Hall
330-672-9007
Sociology Coordinator
Dr. Stacey, 331 Merrill Hall
cstacey@kent.edu 330-672-2044