Faculty & Departmental Advisors

Faculty an Department Roles within Academic Advising

  • As a primary expert in their field of research they may provide advice for internships, graduate school, and careers
  • Assist with major/minor elective courses, and sequencing

 

Africana Studies
Program Faculty Advisor Building Location Email Phone
Africana Studies Dr. Kumah-Abiwu Oscar Ritchie Hall fkumahab@kent.edu 330-672-2300
 
Anthropology
Program Faculty Advisor Building Location Email Phone
Archaeology (B.S.) Dr. Eren 215 Lowry Hall meren@kent.edu 330-672-9353
Biological Anthropology (B.S.) Dr. Meindl 222 Lowry Hall rmeindl@kent.edu 330-672-4363
Dr. Tosi 238 Lowry Hall atosi@kent.edu 330-672-5121
Cultural Anthropology (B.A.) Dr. Fotiou 221 Lowry Hall efotiou@kent.edu 330-672-6862
Forensic Anthropology Minor Dr. Spurlock 235-237 Lowry Hall lspurloc@kent.edu 330-672-5972
Dr. Tosi 238 Lowry Hall atosi@kent.edu 330-672-5121
 
Biological Sciences
To request a permit (Special Approval/Prerequisite) to enroll in a course offered through Biological Sciences, please email bscipermit@kent.edu
 
Program Faculty & Departmental Advisors Building Location Email Phone
Undergraduate Coordinator;
Transfer Student and Regional Campus;
Student Faculty Advisor Assignments 
Dr. Kooijman 256 Cunningham Hall  ekooijma@kent.edu 330-672-8568
Academic Advisor Joan Iacobacci Cunningham Hall jiacobac@kent.edu 330-672-2984
Biology (B.A.); Last Names (A-J) Dr. Rocha 125 Cunningham Hall  orocha@kent.edu 330-672-2297
Biology (B.A.); Last Names (K-Z) Dr. Vash 121 Cunningham Hall  srvash@kent.edu 330-672-3617
Biology- Molecular/Cellular; Last Names (A-L) Dr.  Lamichhaney  41 Cunningham Hall  slamichh@kent.edu 330-672-2764
Biology- Molecular/Cellular; Last Names (M-Z) Dr. Kurokawa 108 Cunningham Hall   mkurokaw@kent.edu 330-672-2979
Biology- Organismal; Last Names (A-H) Dr. Bade  119 Cunningham Hall  dbade@kent.edu 330-672-4639
Biology- Organismal; Last Names (I-Z) Dr. Mou  251B Integrated Sciences Building xmou@kent.edu 330-672-3625
Biotechnology Dr. Kooijman  312J Williams Hall  ekooijma@kent.edu 330-672-8568
Botany  Dr. Case  218 Cunningham Hall  acase@kent.edu 330-672-3699
Environmental & Conservation Biology; Last Names (A-K) Dr. de Szalay  205 Cunningham Hall  fdeszala@kent.edu 330-672-7936
Environmental & Conservation Biology; Last Names (L-Z) Dr. Ward  229 Cunningham Hall  dward21@kent.edu 330-672-9394
Medical Laboratory Science Dr. Chiu  105 Cunningham Hall  cchiu5@kent.edu 330-672-2945
Neuroscience Dr. McDonough 251H Integrated Sciences Building jmcdonou@kent.edu 330-672-2388
Biology- Pre-Medicine; Last Names (A-B) Dr. Hegmann  251A Integrated Sciences Building ehegmann@kent.edu 330-672-1584
Biology- Pre-Medicine; Last Names (C-E) Dr. W. Kim  118 Cunningham Hall  wkim2@kent.edu 330-672-7888
Biology- Pre-Medicine; Last Names (F-J) Dr. Damron  251E Integrated Sciences Building ddamron@kent.edu 330-672-3370
Biology- Pre-Medicine; Last Names (K-N) Dr. McDonough  251H Integrated Sciences Building jmcdonou@kent.edu 330-672-2388
Biology- Pre-Medicine; Last Names (O-Sh) Dr. Caldwell  114 Cunningham Hall  hcaldwel@kent.edu 330-672-3636
Biology- Pre-Medicine; Last Names (Si-Z) Dr. Novak  233 Cunningham Hall  cnovak13@kent.edu 330-672-2306
Zoology; Last Names (A-D) Dr. Grafton  43 Cunningham Hall  bgrafton@kent.edu 330-672-2935
Zoology; Last Names (E-K) Dr. Tinkler  27 Cunningham Hall  gtinkler@kent.edu 330-672-3912
Zoology; Last Names (L-R) Dr. Hoeh  15 Cunningham Hall  whoeh@kent.edu 330-672-9573
Zoology; Last Names (S-Z) Dr. Bahlai  209 Cunningham Hall  cbahlai@kent.edu 330-672-9775
 
Chemistry & Biochemistry
Program Faculty Advisor Building Location Email Phone

Chemistry with Chemistry concentration

Chemistry with Industrial concentration

Chemistry minor

Dr. Bunge  311E Williams Hall sbunge@kent.edu  330-672-9445
Chemistry with Biochemistry concentration Dr. Zheng  228 Integrated Sciences Building yzheng7@kent.edu 330-672-2267
Chemistry with Biochemistry/Pre-Pharmacy Dr. Stroup  138 Science Research Building dstroup1@kent.edu 330-672-3352
Chemistry with Biochemistry–Pre-Medicine/Pre-Osteopathy/Pre-Dentistry concentration Dr. Stroup  138 Science Research Building dstroup1@kent.edu 330-672-3352
Transfer students and course substitutions  Dr. Seed  118 Science Research Building aseed@kent.edu 330-672-9528
Catherine Slapnicker  208 Williams Hall cslapni1@kent.edu 330-672-2405
University of Leicester Exchange Program Dr. Seed  118 Science Research Building aseed@kent.edu 330-672-9528
 
Computer Science
General inquiries (including prerequisite overrides) should be directed to ugradinfo@cs.kent.edu.
 
Program Faculty Advisor Building Location Email Phone
All programs Dr. Samba (lead advisor)  272 Math and Computer Science asamba@kent.edu 330-672-9980
Professor Allouzi  272 Math and Computer Science mallouzi@kent.edu 330-672-9102
Dr. Volkert  216 Math and Computer Science lvolkert@kent.edu 330-672-9037
Dr. Walker  256 Math and Computer Science rawalke1@kent.edu 330-672-9050
 
Criminology/Justice Studies
Refer to Sociology
 
Economics
Program Faculty Advisor Building Location Email Phone
(B.A.) Economics Dr. Sahajdack   454 Business Adm. tsahajda@kent.edu  330-672-1085
 
English
To request a permit (Special Approval/Prerequisite) to enroll in an English course, please email engpermit@kent.edu
         
Program Faculty Advisor Building Location Email Phone
Undergraduate Coordinator; English Dr. Hediger  209-C Satterfield rhediger@kent.edu 330-672-1741
English Mindy Mattingly Uhrig  201-F Satterfield muhrig1@kent.edu 330-672-1719
Teaching English as a Second Language Prof. Abuzeid  203-C Satterfield aabuzeid@kent.edu 330-672-1707
Creative Writing Minor;
Professional and Technical Writing Minor
Mindy Mattingly Uhrig  201-F Satterfield muhrig1@kent.edu 330-672-1719
 
Environmental Studies
Refer to Geography
 
Geography
Program Faculty Advisor Building Location Email Phone
Geography major and minor Dr. Widner  405 McGilvrey ewidner@kent.edu 330-672-3226
Environmental Studies (major and minor) Dr. Kaplan  440 McGilvrey dkaplan@kent.edu 330-672-3221
Climate Change minor Dr. Cameron Lee  433 McGilvrey cclee@kent.edu 330-672-0360
GIS minor Dr. Scholl  407 McGilvrey ascholl1@kent.edu 330-672-7669
Urban Studies minor Dr. Kaplan  440 McGilvrey dkaplan@kent.edu 330-672-3221
 
Geology (Includes Earth Science Program)
Program Faculty Advisor Building Location Email Phone
All programs Dr. Rowan  337 McGilvrey crowan5@kent.edu 330-672-7428
Dr. Wells  131-A McGIlvrey nwells@kent.edu 330-672-2951
Dr. Schweitzer  345 McGilvrey cschweit@kent.edu 330-672-3303 or 330-672-2505
 
Health Care Ethics Minor
Program Faculty Advisor Building Location Email Phone
Health Care Ethics Minor Dr. Barnbaum  320 Bowman Hall  dbarnbau@kent.edu  330-672-2315
 
History
Program Faculty Advisor Building Location Email Phone
Undergraduate Coordinator; All Programs Dr. Bindas  305 Bowman Hall kbindas@kent.edu  330-672-2882
 
Integrative Studies
Refer to Bachelor of Integrative Studies in Multidisciplinary Social Sciences and Humanities
 
International Relations
Refer to Multidisciplinary Social Sciences and Humanities
 
Jewish Studies
Refer to Multidisciplinary Social Sciences and Humanities
 
Mathematical Sciences
Program Faculty Advisor Building Location Email Phone
Assistant Chair; All Programs  Dr. Lewis  210 MSB mllewis@kent.edu 330-672-9033
Undergraduate Coordinator; All Programs  Dr. Zheng  320 MSB xzheng3@kent.edu 330-672-9089
 (B.S.) Actuarial Mathematics  Dr. Kracht  347 MSB dkracht@kent.edu 330-672-9093
 
Medical Laboratory Science
Refer to Biological Sciences Department
 
Modern & Classical Language Studies
Declared MCLS majors and minors should check their GPS audit to find their faculty advisor.  
All unassigned students and prospective students should contact the faculty listed below.
         
Program Faculty Advisor Building Location Email Phone
American Sign Language Dr. Nehring  308 G Satterfield Hall  lnehring@kent.edu 330-672-1808
Arabic minor Dr. Carduner  305 B Satterfield Hall  jcardune@kent.edu 330-672-1806
Chinese minor Hui Yu  309 F Satterfield Hall  hyu5@kent.edu 330-672-1863
Classics/Latin Dr. Harvey  308 B Satterfield Hall  bkharvey@kent.edu 330-672-1804
Education Minor & Teacher Licensure Dr. Chism  101C Satterfield Hall  rlchism@kent.edu 330-672-1825
French Dr. De Julio  305 C Satterfield Hall  mdejulio@kent.edu 330-672-1807
German Dr. Libbon  109 E Satterfield Hall  slibbon@kent.edu 330-672-1811
Dr. Rossoll  309 E Satterfield Hall  hrossoll@kent.edu 330-672-1833
Italian minor Stephanie Siciarz  109 D Satterfield Hall  ssiciarz@kent.edu 330-672-1810
Italian Studies minor Dr. Stasiowski  128 B Bowman Hall  kstasiow@kent.edu 330-672-1809
Japanese minor Eriko Tanaka  309 F Satterfield Hall  etanaka1@kent.edu 330-672-1803
Russian Dr. Trzeciak-Huss  306 B Satterfield Hall  jtrzecia@kent.edu 330-672-1832
Dr. Baer  307 B Satterfield Hall  bbaer@kent.edu 330-672-1813
Spanish Dr. Hermosilla  309 B Satterfield Hall  lhermosi@kent.edu 330-672-1830
Dr. Rivera  Satterfield Hall  orivera@kent.edu  330-672-1829
(B.S.) Translation Dr. Carduner  305B Satterfield Hall  jcardune@kent.edu 330-672-1806
Newly declared MCLS majors seeking faculty advisor assignments;
Transfer course evaluations;
Alternative credit; 
Special approval/overrides for non-language majors;
Foreign language waivers for native speakers of another language
Dr. Carduner  305B Satterfield Hall  jcardune@kent.edu 330-672-1806
 
Multidisciplinary Social Sciences and Humanities, School of
MAJORS
Program Faculty Advisor Building Location Email Phone
International Relations Dr. Barnes  113 Bowman abarnes3@kent.edu  
Paralegal Studies Prof. Paar Conroy  113 Bowman apaar@kent.edu  
Bachelor of Integrative Studies (BIS) Dr. Odell-Scott  113 Bowman dodellsc@kent.edu 330-672-2062
         
MINORS
Program Faculty Advisor Building Location Email Phone
Ancient, Medieval and Renaissance Studies Dr. Starkey (Kent) Kent Campus lstarkey3@kent.edu 330-672-6774
Dr. Martinez (Stark) Stark Campus amart108@kent.edu 330-672-6774
History and Philosophy of Science Dr. Mazzei 113 Bowman jmazzei@kent.edu 330-672-6774
Jewish Studies Prof. Kessler 113 Bowman ckessle7@kent.edu 330-672-6774
Latin American Studies Dr. Mazzei 113 Bowman jmazzei@kent.edu 330-672-6774
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgendered Studies Dr. Vachon   lvachon@kent.edu 330-672-6774
Paralegal Studies Prof. Paar Conroy 113 Bowman apaar@kent.edu 330-672-6774
Religion Studies Dr. Odell-Scott 113 Bowman dodellsc@kent.edu 330-672-6774
Studies in Globalization, Identity, and Space Dr. Mazzei 113 Bowman jmazzei@kent.edu 330-672-6774
Women's Studies Dr. Holt 113 Bowman slholt@kent.edu 330-672-6772
World Literature and Cultures Dr. Mazzei 113 Bowman jmazzei@kent.edu 330-672-6774
 
Paralegal Studies
Refer to Multidisciplinary Social Sciences and Humanities
 
Peace and Conflict Studies, School of
Program Faculty Advisor Building Location Email Phone
All Programs Prof. Cunningham  113D McGilvrey Hall kcunning@kent.edu 330-672-8943
Dr. Hancock  113B McGilvrey Hall lhancoc2@kent.edu 330-672-0904
 
Philosophy
Program Faculty Advisor Building Location Email Phone
All Programs Dr. Kim Garchar  320 Bowman Hall kgarchar@kent.edu 330-672-0276
 
Physics
Program Faculty Advisor Building Location Email Phone
Undergraduate Coordinator; Physics  Dr. Hamza Balci  123 Science Research Building hbalci@kent.edu 330-672-2577
Physics Dr. Balci  123 Science Research Bldg hbalci@kent.edu 330-672-2577
Dr. Katramatou  303 Smith Hall akatrama@kent.edu 330-672-0330
Dr. Mann  140 Science Research Building emann@kent.edu 330-672-9750
Dr. Secaur  120 Smith Hall jsecaur@kent.edu 330-672-2246
Dr. Selinger  321 AMLCI rselinge@kent.edu 330-672-1582
Dr. Strickland  206B Smith Hall mstrick6@kent.edu 330-672-3771
Pre-Medicine/Pre-Osteopathy/Pre-Podiatry Dr. Mann  140 Science Research Building emann@kent.edu 330-672-9750
SPS Advisor Dr. Petratos  314 Smith Hall gpetrato@kent.edu 330-672-5408
Transfer Credit; Transient Coursework Dr. Almasan  002 Science Research Bldg. calmasan@kent.edu 330-672-2402
 
Political Science
All Political Science majors have an assigned faculty advisor in the department.  Please call the main office at (330) 672-2060 to be connected to this individual.
         
Program Faculty Advisor Building Location Email Phone
Political Science (includes Global Studies), Undergraduate Coordinator Dr. Paar-Jakli  302 Bowman Hall gjakli@kent.edu 330-672-8936
Washington/National Issues Dr. Cassell  302 Bowman Hall mcassell@kent.edu 330-672-8945
Columbus/Inter-Gov. Issues TBD     330-672-2060
 
Pre-Law Minor
Program Faculty Advisor Building Location Email Phone
Pre-Law Minor Dr. Banks  302 Bowman Hall cbanks6@kent.edu 330-672-0908
 
Psychology
Learn how to connect to a faculty advisor in the Department of Psychological Sciences HERE.
         
Faculty Faculty Advisor Building Location Email Phone
Undergraduate Coordinator Dr. Folk 205 Kent Hall Addition jfolk@kent.edu 330-672-4095
 
Sociology
Faculty & Departmental Advisor Faculty Advisor Building Location Email Phone
Criminology & Justice Studies and Sociology Coordinator Dr. Taylor 304 Merrill Hall ttaylo36@kent.edu 330-672-9474
Criminology & Justice Studies and Sociology Academic Advisor Rebecca Cash 315/319 Merrill Hall rcash5@kent.edu 330-672-9007