Dr. David Kaplan, Elected Vice President of AAG

Dr. David Kaplan has been elected Vice President of the American Association of Geographers (AAG) for 2018-2019. Dr. Kaplan will automatically be elected as President for the 2019-2020 term, to be followed by another term as Past President in 2020-2021. Dr. Kaplan will succeed Dr. Sheryl Luzzadder-Beach of the University of Texas-Austin.

Dr. Kaplan is a Professor of Geography at Kent State University, where he has taught since 1995. He has written about 60 peer-reviewed articles and chapters, and has published several books. Dr. Kaplan’s research interests include nationalism, borderlands, ethnic and racial segregation, urban and regional development, housing finance, and sustainable transportation.

Dr. Kaplan is also an American Geographical Society (AGS) Councilor and Editor of the Society’s flagship Geographical Review journal. Dr. John Konarski, Chief Executive Officer of AGS noted that, “We are very proud that David is continuing a long tradition of AAG officers also serving as councilors in the AGS. We congratulate David on his election and look forward to working with him even more closely now that he is in this leadership position.” With regard to his newly appointed position, Dr. Kaplan stated, “My election provides a wonderful opportunity to forge closer relations between the two great American Geography associations: the AGS and the AAG. I look forward to looking for ways in which we can complement one another.”

Kaplan said serving as vice president of the 12,500 member non-profit scientific and educational society organization is an “honor.” 

“It is a huge honor for me to lead the flagship organization for Geography,” Kaplan said. “Not only is the American Association of Geographers the largest Geography organization in the United States, it is also the most important geography organization in the world, with many member from other countries.” 

Dr. Kaplan’s election is a benefit for Kent State because the vice presidents and presidents of the national disciplinary associations nearly always come from flagship state universities (like University of Wisconsin or UCLA) or Ivy League schools. Kaplan said he is one of the few people from a non-Research 1 university to become VP and president of the AAG and the first individual from Kent State to ever serve in the position.

POSTED: Saturday, May 12, 2018 - 4:19pm
UPDATED: Saturday, May 12, 2018 - 7:24pm