The John C. Tamplin Award for Excellence in Writing Center Work

The Tamplin Award is given annually to recognize the excellent work of Writing Commons consultants and to honor the outstanding contributions of our consultants of the intellectual life of the university.  The award is named after Professor John C. Tamplin, a  longtime volunteer and supporter of the Writing Commons. Writing Commons consultants can be nominated in the Summer, Fall, and Spring terms.  Nominations for close in March for the current academic year.

Who is eligible for the Tamplin Award?

Any graduate or undergraduate writing consultant working in the Kent campus Writing Commons who is in good standing is eligible to be nominated.

Who may nominate a writing consultant for the Tamplin Award?

Any Kent State University student, faculty member, staff member, or member of the local community who has had interaction with the writing consultant in his or her capacity as a Writing Commons employee may nominate a them  for the Tamplin Award. (However, employees of the Writing Commons may not make nominations.) 

Nominate a Writing Commons Consultant

Nominations for the Spring 2024 award ceremony will be accepted until 8AM on Friday, March 1, 2024.

About the Tamplin Award

The Tamplin Award was established by Kent State University alumnus John C. Tamplin, who, after retiring from a distinguished career as a professor of British Romantic Poetry and Technical Writing, volunteered his time as a writing consultant in the Writing Commons for many years. Since retiring from his writing consultant role, Professor Tamplin has continued to support the Writing Commons by establishing a fund that finances consultants’ conference presentation travel and by establishing an annual award for consulting excellence. To keep Dr. Tamplin's important professional development and recognition projects moving forward, donations in any amount are always welcome!

Donate to the Tamplin Fund



UPDATED: Sunday, May 19, 2024 01:23 PM