Discover Kent State Columbiana County

Columbiana County is the only county to have two regional campuses: Kent State University at East Liverpool and Kent State University at Salem. Both campuses welcome new students and/or students returning to school after being in the work place.

Welcome to the Kent State University Columbiana County Campuses

Ohio’s Columbiana County was established March 25, 1803. The name is derived from a combination of Columbus (Christopher Columbus) and Anna. Columbiana County was rich in soil for agricultural purposes, but also rich in mining opportunities. Iron ore was most plentiful in Salem, while clay was the foundation for East Liverpool, making it the one-time world leader in pottery production.


Kent State University at East Liverpool is located downtown, just off state Route 11. The campus is comprised of two buildings: the Mary Patterson Building and the newly named John J. Purinton Hall.

The East Liverpool Campus of Kent State University was permanently established in 1965, beginning as an academic center in the International Brotherhood of Pottery Workers building. In June 1968, the center became a Regional Campus of Kent State University and, thanks to the generosity of the East Liverpool City Schools which sold the former high school building to Kent State for $1.00, moved to its present facilities on East Fourth Street.

In 1989, the Mary Patterson Building, a former women's residence, was purchased by the Friends of the East Liverpool Campus and was partially renovated in 1993. In 1996, the campus undertook a capital fundraising campaign, "Opening Doors to Opportunity," which raised $956,000 from the community to completely transform the Mary Patterson Building into a state-of-the-art learning center. In addition to the private donations, Kent State University and the State of Ohio contributed a total of $2 million in additional funds to complete the project. The grand re-opening of the building was held in May 2000.


Kent State University at Salem is situated on 100 sprawling acres, south of the city at 2491 state Route 45 South. Students may enjoy the view of the pond and explore the winding nature trails on campus.

In September 2011, the campus added a multi-million dollar Health and Sciences Wing to the building, complete with centralized classrooms; new labs for nursing; radiologic and imaging sciences; faculty offices; conference room; and bookstore. In 2013, the wing was officially named James and Coralie Centofanti Hall after a generous donation from the James and Coralie Centofanti Foundation provided funds to transform the wing’s 9,000-squre feet of space on the second floor into hands-on science laboratories and classrooms for biology, chemistry and other science-related studies.

The City Center, which is originally the former Salem High School and Junior High, is Kent State Salem’s second building. The City Center is located in the heart of downtown Salem, at 230 N. Lincoln Ave. It features an auditorium where musical concerts, lectures and commencement ceremonies are held each year.


The two campuses combined provide instruction to more than 3,500 students, 70 percent of which are female and 30 percent male. The average age of our students is 28. Many of our students are first-generation students whose roots are firmly planted in Columbiana County.

Students in several counties in the tri-state area are eligible for reduced tuition. These counties include Brooke, Hancock, and Ohio counties in West Virginia; and Allegheny, Beaver, Butler, Crawford, Erie, Lawrence and Mercer counties in Pennsylvania.


Between Kent State East Liverpool and Kent State Salem, 27 degrees are offered, 13 of which are bachelor’s degrees. Kent State University offers more than 282 bachelor’s degree programs that students may start at the Columbiana County campuses, and finish at another Kent State University campus.

Kent State University at Salem is the only Kent State campus to offer degrees in Applied Horticulture and Insurance Studies.


Learn More about our Dean, Dr. David Dees, and our two assistant deans Dr. Susan Rossi and Dr. Celeste Oprean. 

 learn more about the administration