Rising Scholars


Due to the success of the Columbiana County Rural Scholars Program, Kent State University has implemented a local version of our program on each of the seven regional campuses. To align the mission university-wide, all of the campuses have adopted the Rising Scholars name, including the program on the Columbiana County campuses. The Columbiana County Rising Scholars program is the exact same program, just under a new name that connects us system-wide.

Each campus will develop programming, experiences and outcomes that are relevant to their respective local communities.  

Now, under the new designation of Rising Scholars, students from the entire northeast Ohio region are benefiting from this approach to student success.  

Our Mission

Kent State University's Rising Scholars Program offers first-generation college-bound students from Columbiana County and neighboring areas a college access program designed to give them and their families the knowledge, rigorous academic exposure, and social support they will need in order to be successful at a world-class university.

Our goal is for every student in our program to complete post-secondary education with the credentials necessary to succeed in their career. 

Participating schools include:

  • Beaver Local
  • Columbiana Exempted Villiage Local Schools
  • Crestview Local
  • East Liverpool City Schools
  • East Palestine City
  • Leetonia Exempted Village
  • Lisbon Village Exempted
  • Salem City Schools
  • Southern Local Schools
  • United Local Schools
  • Wellsville Local Schools


Support East Liverpool Rising Scholars

Support Salem Rising Scholars

Like Us on Facebook!


Instagram logo