School of Communication Studies presents scholarships and awards to recognize academic excellence and leadership

12 Students Recognized for Outstanding Achievement

The Kent State University School of Communication Studies presented scholarships and awards to 12 students in recognition of academic excellence and leadership. The students, all Communication Studies majors, were recognized at a reception and honors ceremony held April 9, 2014, in the Moulton Hall Ballroom on the Kent campus.

Making the presentations were Paul Haridakis, Ph.D., Director of the School of Communication Studies, and Jeffrey T. Child, Ph.D., Associate Professor in the School of Communication Studies.

Students were chosen by a committee of faculty members led by Child. Applications were reviewed according to academic criteria met such as academic performance, number of years in program, community involvements, leadership, and other attributes, according to Child.

"The committee was pleased with the number of outstanding students applying for scholarships this year. It made determining the winners a difficult task. We are so proud of the accomplishments of all of our undergraduate students and this event provides us a way to celebrate their excellence," Child said.

Scholarship and award recipients for academic year 2013-2014 are:

Nancy E. Mitchell Endowed Scholarship, recipient, Megan Carrasco. This scholarship recognizes an actively engaged major with a strong academic record and notable leadership and service contributions at the university or within the community.

Lawrence W. Hugenberg Memorial Award, recipient, Jessica Baker. Named in memory of Lawrence W. Hugenberg, Ph.D., of the School of Communication Studies, this scholarship is presented to the student who has demonstrated and achieved growth and development since beginning enrollment as a Communication Studies major.

Michael Dubetz Endowed Scholarship, recipients, Shannon French and Shannon Wood. Named in memory of emeritus professor Michael Dubetz, Ph.D., the scholarship is presented to a junior Communication Studies major who earned a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 minimum and exhibited strong leadership and personal achievement.

Pierce Memorial Award, recipient,Owen Dolbear. The award recognizes a senior Communication Studies major who has shown outstanding service to the school, academic performance, motivation, and character. This award is named in the memory of M. Scheffel Pierce, a 1943 graduate of Kent State University.

Rebecca & Alan Rubin Endowed Scholarship, recipients, Kara Curry and Rachel Morrell. This scholarship is given to students who demonstrate strong academic performance, motivation, character, ability, and potential.

School of Communication Memorial Scholarship, recipients,Ashley Cowles, Amish Patel and Olivia Thompson. This scholarship is presented to students who exhibit strong scholarly effort and/or service during their time at Kent State University.

Top Scholar Award, recipients Seth Wehr and Mary Zhao. This award is given annually to the Communication Studies major graduating in May who has the highest grade point average. The recipient receives an engraved gift and a plaque with the names of the recipients is displayed in Taylor Hall.

Additional information and criteria on awards and scholarships are available at the Communication Scholarships and Awards page.

POSTED: Friday, April 25, 2014 04:32 PM
Updated: Wednesday, June 7, 2017 11:41 AM
School of Communication Studies