About Us

About the School Of Communication Studies

The School of Communication Studies at Kent State University holds a record of academic excellence and achievement. Students and faculty have demonstrated the academic excellence Kent State University strives for and has earned a ranking as a top program by the Ohio Communication Association.

The school is one of five in the College of Communication and Information (CCI), along with the School of Emerging Media & Technology (EMAT), School of Media and Journalism (MDJ), the School of Information (iSchool), and the School of Visual Communication Design (VCD). There are 17 full-time faculty, each with unique teaching and research interests, as well as being renowned communication scholars. 

Undergraduate students in the School of Communication Studies have two different communication concentrations to choose from. Students gain valuable skills that prepare them for careers across the communication field. They can also pursue master's degrees within the school or a doctorate which is offered by the College of Communication and Information. 


Kent State University
201 Taylor Hall
300 Midway Drive
P.O. Box 5190
Kent, Ohio 44242-0001

Contact Information

E-mail: comm@kent.edu
Phone: 330-672-2659
Fax: 330-672-3510
International Phone: 00 1 330 672-2659

Office Hours: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. (EST), Monday through Friday