School Honors Alumni for Contributions to Profession

Alumni JaRel Clay, Arianne Gasser, Carol Wilder and Scott Myers Recognized at Alumni Awards

Four Kent State University alumni were honored on Friday, Sept. 22, at the School of Communication Studies Alumni Awards & Reception in Taylor Hall. The event was part of the College of Communication and Information's celebration of Taylor Hall's reopening, Sept. 21 - 23, 2017.

Three distinct awards are given at the annual celebration:

  • Centennial Award, a recognition given to individuals of great stature and service to the university who have gained national or international recognition for their work in communication studies. This was awarded to Carol Wilder, Ph.D., ’74, an accomplished professor of media theory and criticism, impactful Fulbright Scholar, celebrated writer and filmmaker and now the dean of the School of Media Studies at The New School in New York, NY.
  • Distinguished Alumni Award, an award given to a graduate from the School of Communication Studies with more than 15 years of professional experience and equal contribution to the field of communication and his or her career. This was awarded to Scott Myers, Ph.D., ’95, a notable professor of instructional, family and organizational communication; a prolific writer of scholarly works; and Peggy Rardin McConnell Endowed Chair in the Department of Communication Studies at West Virginia University in Morgantown, W. Va.
  • Outstanding Young Professional Award, given to communication studies graduates who have shown outstanding success in his or her chosen career with five to 15 years of professional experience. The school recognized JaRel Clay, '11; digital content manager at the Center for a New American Security in Washington, D.C.; and Arianne Gasser, '11; research associate at the O'Neill Consulting Group in Philadelphia, Pa.

Visit to see additional stories about the other School of Communication Studies Taylor Hall Reopening events. View photos at:

POSTED: Friday, September 1, 2017 - 8:12pm
UPDATED: Monday, October 23, 2017 - 9:33am