Department of Physics

Northeast Ohio’s emerging flexible electronics industry recently received a boost in the form of a $499,514 contract from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) Innovative Economies initiative.  The funding was awarded to NorTech, a regional nonprofit economic development organization, leading efforts to develop regional innovation clusters in Northeast Ohio.  NorTech will use the funds to focus on small business growth and job creation in the region’s flexible electronics industry.

Ten Kent State University researchers are part of a team of international scientists who have discovered the most massive antinucleus discovered to date. They are part of an international team of scientists studying high-energy collision of gold ions at the Relativistic Heavy Ion Collider (RHIC), a 2.4 mile-circumference particle accelerator at Brookhaven National Laboratory in Upton, N.Y., operated by the U.S. Department of Energy. 

Congratulations to graduate student Tanya Ostapenko, who has been selected to participate in the 2010 Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting in Germany, which offers a unique opportunity for PhD candidates in the early-to-mid phase of their research to interact with the world's leading scientists.  

By Hannah Baughman

Colonel Writer

In his 35th and final year of teaching, physics teacher Jon Secaur was honored with the title of Portage County Teacher of the Year.

Every year, the Coleman Foundation picks a teacher in the county who has been nominated by his or her peers to win the award. This year, the science department chose to nominate Secaur for the award to honor his long career before he retires, and the Coleman Foundation chose him from the pool of other applicants.