VCD Alumni Awards

John Brett Buchanan and j.Charles Walker Walker-Buchanan Alumni Awards

The Walker-Buchanan Alumni Awards recognize the careers and exceptional achievements of alumni who have made an indelible impact in the field of design.

Created in 2015, the three awards are named in honor of industry legends j.Charles Walker, School of Visual Communication Design founder, and John Brett Buchanan, first creative director of Glyphix.


The Walker-Buchanan Lifetime Achievement Award is the highest honor given by the School of Visual Communication Design. It honors those associated with the School who are nationally and/or internationally recognized for their preeminent contributions to their profession.

The Walker-Buchanan Distinguished Alumni Award celebrates alumni who have made a significant contribution to the field of visual design for more than fifteen years after graduation. 

The Walker-Buchanan Outstanding Young Professional award honors alumni who have demonstrated continued success in their field for more than five years after graduation.

2017 Recipients

Steven Saylor points at pictureSTEVEN SAYLOR
President/CEO Evergreen Studio

2017 Walker-Buchanan Lifetime Achievement Award 

Gregg Brokaw, headhot
Co-owner, Brokaw Inc.

2017 Walker-Buchanan Distinguished Alumni Award   

Aimee Crane, alumna
MORI Associates - COMIT Contract at NASA 

2017 Walker-Buchanan Outstanding Young Professional Award


2016 Recipients



Walker-Buchanan Lifetime Achievement Award: Lewis Williams

Walker-Buchanan Distinguished Alumni Award: Mikey Burton

Walker-Buchanan Distinguished Alumni Award: Peni Acayo