Rising Scholars 2024 Graduates Ready for Next Steps

The Kent State Columbiana County campuses held a graduation celebration to recognize members of the Rising Scholars program who are each graduating from their respective high schools this spring. 

The graduating scholars include:

  • Chris Alvarez, East Liverpool High School
  • Kaitlyn Black, Crestview High School and CCCTC
  • Brooklyn Carlson-Byrd, Wellsville High School
  • Reese Carpenter, Lisbon High School
  • Martina Cole, Leetonia High School
  • Ryan Ehler, Wellsville High School
  • Ashton Hutton-Bressi, Salem High School
  • Destiny Kelly, Accelerated Christian Education PACE Online School
  • Kaylee Klaussner, East Liverpool High School
  • Sophia Lewis, Crestview High School 
  • Owen McDonald, Salem High School and CCCTC
  • Isabella McFarland, Leetonia High School
  • Courtney Muskgrove, East Liverpool High School
  • Gage Owens, Lisbon High School
  • Joseline Stanley, Southern Local High School
  • Lillian Starcher, Salem High School
  • Colton Sutherin, United High School
  • Selena Zuti, Crestview High School

The scholars were recognized by Dr. Jessica Paull, program coordinator, along with Dr. Brad Bielski, interim dean and CAO of the Columbiana County campuses, and Tommy Kornbau, Rising Scholars master mentor.

The Rising Scholars Program is designed to offer local first-generation college-bound students and their families the knowledge and social support needed to succeed at a university. The goal is for each student in the program to complete a post-secondary education with credentials necessary to succeed in his or her career. Students are chosen by their schools based on their academic and leadership potential.

Also attending the event were Rising Scholars alumni Jelly Rogers, Quinton Gfeller, Allison Borchardt and Payton Price. 

Representatives from the Marian G. Resch Foundation, a major contributor to the program, were on hand to applaud the graduates, as well.

Kent State Salem and East Liverpool students serve as mentors to the younger scholars. Each mentor is a first-generation college student from Columbiana County with a strong record of academic success and a desire to serve the community. This year’s attending mentors included Joy Carpenter, Nevaeh Hamilton, Grace Huddlestun, Kasey Jamison, Tommy Kornbau, Blaine McCurdy, Elizabeth Mostella and Ashtyn Snyder.

Kent State Columbiana campuses 2024 Rising Scholars graduating scholars and mentors gathered for one final photo.

Photo A: The 2024 Rising Scholars graduates include (from left) Isabella McFarland, Ashton Hutton-Bressi, Reese Carpenter, Owen McDonald, Kaitlyn Black, Selena Zuti, Destiny Kelly, Joseline Stanley and Sophia Lewis.

Photo B: Graduating scholars and mentors gathered for one final photo. Pictured are (from left) Dr. Jessica Paull, program coordinator; Joy Carpenter, mentor; Tommy Kornbau, master mentor; Isabella McFarland, Ashton Hutton-Bressi, Reese Carpenter, Owen McDonald, Kaitlyn Black, Selena Zuti, Destiny Kelly, Joseline Stanley, Sophia Lewis and mentors Blaine McCurdy, Grace Huddlestun, Ashtyn Snyder, Nevaeh Hamilton, Kasey Jamison

More pictures on our Facebook page

POSTED: Monday, May 13, 2024 10:15 AM
Updated: Monday, May 13, 2024 10:52 AM