Salem Nursing Students Receive Pins at Ceremony

Salem Nursing Students Hold Convocation

Kent State at Salem held its annual nursing convocation and pinning ceremony at The Links at Firestone Farms, during which 48 students received their nursing pins and recited the nursing pledge. All are receiving degrees this year through the bachelor of science in nursing (BSN) program on the Salem campus.

Dr. Mary Lou Ferranto, coordinator of the BSN program at Salem, presented the 2015 class of graduates, while nursing faculty members presented various awards and the students’ pins. Special guests included Dr. Steve Nameth, dean of the Kent State Salem Campus, and Dr. Barbara Broome, dean of the Kent State University College of Nursing.

Eight students were recognized for their academic and leadership achievements. Josh Jones received the Award for Academic Performance; Carolyn Parker and Scott Rinaldi received the Award for Clinical Excellence; Zachery Maierhofer and Jessica Seydlorsky received the Spirit of Nursing Award; Lori Davis received the Nursing Leadership Awards; and Misty Young received the Community Service Award. Melissa Willis was recognized as an honor student.

The Kent State Salem BSN class of 2016 includes students who graduate in May, August and December.

May graduates include Hayley Cochran, Lori Davis, Lauren Evans, Stephanie Garloch, Samantha Hawkins, Emily Hill, Samantha Kerr, Holly Kowal, Katie Kubeck, Zachery Maierhofer, Olivia McClellan, Jennifer McHugh, Ashley Milano, Pete Ostapiak, Rosa Pritchard, Crystal Richards, Scott Rinaldi, Adam Shonce, Bethany Sitler, Meghan Skiba, Katie Spickler, Paige Travis, Melissa Willis, Shannon Wood, Misty Young and Rachel Zink.

August graduates include Stevie Jo Adelman, Holly Arcuri, Anna Cubarrubia, Alicia Dunson, Jamie Elenz, Hannah Harsh, Bethany Judy, Danielle Karabin, Joseph Kitzmiller, Abby Lamancusa, Kim Norton and Jenna Lee Tucker.

December graduates include: Bianca Biondillo, Mallorie Davidson, Melissa Hall, Joshua Jones, Margaret Haluska, Nicole Morocco, Carolyn Parker, Pamela Pierce, Kelly Rastetter and Jessica Seydlorsky.

POSTED: Tuesday, May 17, 2016 04:27 PM
UPDATED: Thursday, December 08, 2022 05:13 PM