Kent State East Liverpool Recognizes Outstanding Students, Campus Supporters at Honors Banquet

East Liverpool recognizes students, community leaders, faculty


East Liverpool – Kent State University at East Liverpool recognized the academic achievements of several students during its annual Wall of Fame and Honors Banquet, as well as the support from community members. 

The ceremony began with tributes to the late Dr. Carole Barbato and Dr. Roxanne Burns, each a longtime faculty member and who were active in numerous activities, projects and events on the East Liverpool and Kent campuses.

Aside from a video presentation, the two were remembered by their peers, Dr. Laura Davis, Dr. Chris Fenk and Dr. Don Gerbig.

Willard (Chuck) Adkins received the Lifetime Achievement Award, based on his extensive experience in education, ministry and support of the campus.

Nancy Clark received the Friend of the Campus Award. She worked on the East Liverpool Campus for 35 years, helped organize the first Wall of Fame event and worked to keep it going.

Scholarship recipients included (front, from left) Jack Allen and Zachery Myers, receiving the Dr. Joan D. Gailey Memorial Scholarship; and (back, right) Robert Porter, receiving the Faculty and Staff Wall of Fame Scholarship with Assistant Dean Dr. Susan RossiThe students recognized included the following:
Faculty and Staff Wall of Fame Scholarship: 
  • Robert Porter
Dr. Joan D. Gailey Memorial Scholarship:
  • Jack Allen
  • Zachery Myers
Outstanding Student Service Awards
  • Student Occupational Therapy Assistants Club: Christine Harris
  • Student Nurse Association: Jacqueline VanDyne
  • Student Government: Jennifer Dissette
  • Physical Therapist Assistant Club: Renee Engelman
Outstanding Academic Achievement Awards
  • Business Management: Lane Lopata
  • Computer Technology: Tyler Shingler
  • Associate Degree Nursing: Lexa Noble
  • Occupational Therapy:  Katrena Herring
  • Physical Therapy: Michela Nicholson
  • Academic Honors: Melanie Cook
President’s Lists for Spring 2014 and Fall 2014:
  • Noelle Amato
  • Ashley Boni
  • Cody Geer
  • Carissa Griffith
  • Edward Grogg
  • Joshua Lamb
  • Toni Potts
  • Jacob Reed
  • Jared Shilot
  • Nora Spade
  • Lindsey Stewart


Honored at the 2015 Wall of Fame and Honors Banquet for Kent State East Liverpool were (front, from left) Toni Potts, Noelle Amato, Lindsey Stewart, Jennifer Dissette, Melanie Cook, Renee Engleman, Michela Nicholson, Christine Harris; and (back, from left) Jack Allen, Lexa Noble, Zachery Myers, Robert Porter, Cody Geer, Jared Shilot, Jacqueline VanDyne, Lane Lopata, Tyler Shingler, Edward Grogg, Katrena Herring and Dr. Susan Rossi, assistant dean.

POSTED: Monday, May 4, 2015 04:19 PM
Updated: Thursday, December 8, 2022 01:15 PM