Emeritus Professor to be Featured in the 2018 CSCA Convention "Scholar Conversations" Series

Jerry D. Feezel, Ph.D., an emeritus professor at the Kent State University School of Communication Studies (COMM), will be featured in the “Scholar Conversations” series at the 2018 Central States Communication Association (CSCA) convention April 4 – 7 in Milwaukee.


Former executive director and past CSCA president Scott A. Myers, Ph.D., will interview Feezel one-on-one to discuss Feezel’s outstanding research and instructional contributions to the field of communication studies. Myers is a professor in the Department of Communication Studies at West Virginia University and is a Kent State School of Communication Studies alumnus who studied with Feezel.


Feezel’s research and teaching areas include language semantics, instructional communication, communication in aging and intercultural communication. In addition to numerous state, regional and national conference papers, Feezel has written more than 65 articles, two books and three book chapters. Internationally, he has studied and taught in England, Germany, China and other nations.


Myers teaches courses in instructional communication, organizational communication and positive communication. His research interests center primarily on the student-instructor relationship in the college classroom and the adult sibling relationship. He is a former editor of Communication Teacher and is the immediate past director of the National Communication Association’s Educational Policies Board.


For those attending CSCA who may want to attend the Scholar Conversation featuring Feezel and Myers, the session will be held from 3:30 to 4:45 p.m., in Rm. 1601 of the Hilton City Center.


For more information, visit https://bit.ly/2GJ8JUP.


The Central States Communication Association (CSCA) is an academic organization of communication professionals including college and university professors, students, and K-12 educators. CSCA was founded in 1931 to promote the communication discipline in educational, scholarly, and professional endeavors. The association, which consists of the 13 Midwestern states of North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Kansas, Oklahoma, Missouri, Illinois, Iowa, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Michigan, Indiana, and Ohio, is governed by an Executive Committee and is legislated by its constitution and bylaws.


POSTED: Wednesday, April 4, 2018 - 11:51am
UPDATED: Wednesday, April 4, 2018 - 1:39pm