Lambda Pi Eta Strives To Become a More Active Chapter

The School of Communication Studies at Kent State University welcomes 71 new members into its Lambda Pi Eta Upsilon chapter.

The School of Communication Studies at Kent State University welcomes 71 new members into its Lambda Pi Eta Upsilon chapter, the official communication studies honor society of the National Communication Association (NCA), for the 2014-2015 school year.

Lambda Pi Eta recognizes students for outstanding scholastic achievement in communication studies as well as promotes and encourages professional development among communication majors.

In the past, membership has largely been honorary, but this year the organization’s officers—Amy Paluf, president; Katie Borton, vice president; Bridget Mullally, treasurer; Erin Wells, secretary; and Jordan Perry, public relations—are striving to make the chapter more active.

To increase presence and awareness, Lambda Pi Eta officers created official FacebookTwitter, and Instagram pages as well as brochures and a new bulletin board in Taylor Hall.  Also, for the first time, you can purchase a Lambda Pi Eta t-shirt.

The organization is also working toward greater involvement of its members. Lambda Pi Eta will host its first Meet and Greet on April 8 from 4-10 p.m. at Five Guys in Kent. This will be an opportunity for new members to learn more about the organization and to meet the officers and faculty advisor Dr. Rozell Duncan. 

Lambda Pi Eta joins forces with Kent Communication Society for Relay for Life, April 17-18 at the Kent State Field House, to form the Communication Studies team.  If you are interested in donating or joining the team, please visit the Relay signup page.

The School of Communication Studies and Lambda Pi Eta invite all members to an induction ceremony and reception on April 15 at 5 p.m. in the Moulton Ballroom for students, family members and guests.

The six goals of Lambda Pi Eta:

  1. Recognize, foster, and reward outstanding scholastic achievement in communication studies;
  2. Stimulate interest in the field of communication;
  3. Promote and encourage professional development among communication majors;
  4. Provide an opportunity to discuss and exchange ideas in the field of communication;
  5. Establish and maintain closer relationships between faculty and students; and
  6. Explore options for graduate education in communication studies.

To be invited to join Lambda Pi Eta, students must complete at least 60 undergraduate credit hours with a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0 and must have completed 12 credit hours in communication studies with at least a 3.25 GPA.

*T-shirts are $15 and will be sold at the Meet and Greet and Induction ceremony.

Inductees for the 2014-2015 academic year

  • Laura Arnold
  • Amanda Azzarelli
  • Jessica Baker
  • Victoria Becek
  • Abbey Begue
  • Kathleen Bell
  • Madelyn Bogdan
  • Kaitlin Boyle
  • Joshua Breuler
  • Victoria Bucek
  • Amber F. Bucher
  • Courtney L. Carrier
  • Alissa C. Chenetski
  • Ruthella Coder
  • Ashley Cowles
  • Owen Dolbear
  • Sonja Dittman
  • Halie Doyle
  • Elizabeth Esmond
  • Hannah Firsdon
  • Matthew Fitzgerald
  • Shannon French
  • Elizabeth Gallagher
  • Molly Halpin
  • Marie Huang
  • Nicholas Hershey
  • Anna Hoffman
  • Rachel Huffman
  • Connor Hurley
  • Emily James
  • Chelsie Kahler
  • Kristina Kelley
  • Emily Kohut
  • Sarah Kuceyeski
  • Marina Marti
  • Ashely Maruna
  • Tyler Maruschak
  • Kristin Mayo
  • Lauren McGuigan
  • Laura McIntosh
  • Anthony Milano
  • Breanna Mona
  • Rachel Morrell
  • Caroline Nigro
  • Adam Nowicki
  • Lauren O’Rourke
  • Rebecca Osmer
  • Kristen Parry
  • Jordan Perry
  • Jenna Polen
  • Taylor Ridenour
  • Danielle Ridgway
  • Paul Rini
  • Nicholas Schneckenburger
  • Mackenzie Shaffer
  • Conrad Smith
  • Julia Snyder
  • Nikhita SodhiJia
  • Jia Song
  • Laura Sovich
  • Marina Strah
  • Lauren Stephenson
  • Lauren Taccone
  • Kara Taylor
  • Becket Thompson
  • Olivia Thompson
  • Melanie Tousley
  • Kelsey VonGunten
  • Tianyu Wang
  • Erin Wells
  • Shannon Wood
  • Yuke Ye
POSTED: Thursday, April 2, 2015 - 12:00am
UPDATED: Thursday, April 23, 2015 - 10:46am
Lauren Taccone