The School of Communication Studies at Kent State University to Honor Alumni and Professor Emeritus

School of Communication Studies To Host Homecoming Event

Two Kent State University alumni and one professor emeritus will be honored on Friday, Oct. 2, for the sixth annual School of Communication Studies Centennial Award Celebration in the Kent Student Center Ballroom Balcony. There are three distinct awards given at the celebration:

  • Distinguished Alumni Award, an award given to a graduate from the School of Communication Studies with more than 15 years of professional experience and equal contribution to the field of communication and his or her career. This will be awarded to Dr. Robin Clair, Lafayette, IN resident and current full-time professor at Purdue University.  
  • Outstanding Young Professional award, given to the communication studies graduate who has shown outstanding success in his or her chosen career with five to 15 years of professional experience. Dr. Anthony Limperos, Lexington, KY resident and currently the assistant professor of communication studies at the University of Kentucky will receive this award. 
  • Centennial Award, a recognition given to individuals of great stature and service to the university who have gained national or international recognition for their work in communication studies. This award was created in honor of Kent State University’s centennial year in 2010; this year’s recipient will be professor emeritus, Dr. Jerry Feezel, Kent, Ohio resident. 

This celebration is an opportunity to network and learn more about the contributions of these individuals. Kent State University professionals, alumni and students are invited to attend and honor these communication professionals.

The festivities will begin at 5:00 p.m. with the awards ceremony beginning promptly at 6:30 p.m. Attendees must register by Friday, Sept. 25 at The event and registration are both free of cost.

The Centennial Award Celebration is an annual Homecoming celebration that began in 2010, with more than 14 previous award winners. These awards recognize the many individuals who have contributed to the communication industry and in turn contributed to the School of Communication Studies through instruction, networking or otherwise. 


Media Contacts: 
Lindsay Kuntzman,, (330) 672-2659
Emily Vincent,, (330) 672-8595


POSTED: Friday, September 11, 2015 - 1:25pm
UPDATED: Friday, September 11, 2015 - 1:30pm
Jowan M. Cole, Marketing & PR Intern