Dean, College of the Arts

Diane H. Petrella, DMA

College of the Arts


  • B.M., Eastern Illinois University
  • M.M., University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • DMA, University of North Texas

Job Description

Responsible for leading the College of the Arts, which is composed of the schools of Art, Fashion Design and Merchandising, Music, Theatre and Dance, and the Kent State University Museum. Dean Petrella provides leadership in the areas of student affairs, faculty affairs, curriculum development, budget, programming and advancement for the College of the Arts. The college is active in research and community outreach. 

Direct Reports

  • Associate Dean, Marie Bukowski
  • Assistant Dean, Academic Advising, Sandra Randulic 
  • Assistant Dean, Recruitment and Retention, LeAnn Starlin Nilsson
  • Director, School of Art, Peter Johnson
  • Director, School of Fashion Design and Merchandising, Louise Valentine
  • Director, School of Music, Kent McWilliams
  • Director, School of Theatre and Dance, Eric Van Baars
  • Director, Kent State University Museum, Sarah Rogers
  • Director, Philanthropy, Christopher Fornadel 
  • Senior Resource Manager, Academic Budget and Resource Management, Mary Linger
  • Director of Special Projects, Anna Mates
  • Coordinator, Operations and Special Projects, Pam Hutson

Contact, 330-672-2760

Learn more about the College of the Arts