Affiliated Student Organizations and Programs

1.  Alpha Kappa Mu Honor Society (Mu Mu Chapter) and Other Honor Awards

The Department’s primary method of recognizing superior student scholarship is the Alpha Kappa Mu National Society.  Alpha Kappa Mu is a general scholarship honor society open to junior and senior men and women, and graduate students in all academic areas.  Honorary membership is open to the Department’s faculty and to other faculty on the campus.  The formal induction of new members takes place during Honors Week in April.  Inductees into Alpha Kappa Mu (Mu Mu Chapter) must fulfill the following requirements:

     a.   Eligibility for active membership is based upon junior or senior class standing with a minimum of 64 semester hours (50 percent of the hours needed for graduation) and a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.30 or better;

     b.   Transfer students shall be in residence for at least two semesters and shall have earned 32 semester hours at Kent Sate University toward a degree.  However, the grade point average shall be computed for the entire career to date.

     c.   Graduate inductees must have earned no fewer than 15 semester hours as regularly matriculated graduate students and have a cumulative grade point average of 3.7 or better.  To guarantee that graduate students satisfy these academic  requirements, a copy of the student’s transcript must accompany the application for permission to induct.

In addition to Alpha Kappa Mu, the Department offers five other awards:

a. The W.E.B. DuBois University Service Award;

b. The Mary McLeod Bethune Award for Scholarship;

c. The Fela Sowande Award for Creativity;

d. The Shirley R. Crosby Community Service Award; and

e. The Hulda Smith-Graham Freshman Scholarship Award;

Recipients of the W.E.B. Du Bois or Fela Sowande Awards must have a minimum GPA of 2.50, and those for the Mary McLeod Bethune Award must have a minimum GPA of 3.00.  All recipients of theses awards must have also taken at least two PAS courses.  No particular class standing is required.  The Hulda Smith-Graham Award is presented to all first–semester freshman students taking PAS courses who have earned a minimum GPA of 3.00.

2.  Black United Students (BUS)

In keeping with the educational mandate, a charge made by the Black United Students to the Department in 1969, the Department maintains a viable working relationship with this student organization.  This relationship encompasses all aspects of the Department’s curricular divisions, programs and activities which directly impact student concerns.  To effect the orderly implementation of the relationship, the President of BUS, or his designate, is welcome to attend all general faculty and staff meetings, providing the agendas of these meetings warrant student presence.

3.  UHURU Magazine

This is a Pan-African Student magazine that has been published by Black United Students since 1969.  Students, faculty and staff are encouraged to submit articles and news items to this publication on a regular basis.  In addition, it is expected that Communication Skills and Arts students will have some of their written assignments expressly designed for publication in this student magazine.