Faculty in Translation Studies

FACULTY IN TRANSLATION STUDIES

Name

Language

Research Area

Title

Email

Phone

Erik Angelone

German
Translation

Translation Process Research, Intercultural Communication, Coordinator Distance Learning

German Translation

   

Brian James Baer

Russian Translation

 

Literary & Cultural Translations, Translation History

Professor of Russian Translation; Graduate Coordinator

bbaer@kent.edu

330-672-1813

Sharon Bell

French Translation

Francophone Literature

Assistant Professor of French Translation

sbell@kent.edu

330-672-1818

Loubna Bilali

French and Arabic Translation

Localization, Computer-Assisted Translation and Terminology Studies

Doctoral Fellow, Arabic and French

lbilali@kent.edu

 

Tatyana Bystrova-McIntyre

Russian Translation

Literary & Cultural Translations

Assistant Professor of Russian and Translation

tbystro2@kent.edu

330-524-4866

 

Michael Carl

Translation

HumanTranslation Process Research, Computer-Assisted Translation, Machine Translation, Translation Technology, Computational Linguistics, Natural Language Processing, Machine Learning, Data Analytics, Human-Computer Interface, Man-Machine Interaction

 

   

Keiran Dunne

French Translation

Software, Website and Multimedia Localization; Project Management; Computer-Assisted Translation and Terminology Studies; Quality Management

Professor of French Translation, Chair

kdunne@kent.edu

330-672-1805

Hannelore Gomez

   

Doctoral Fellow, Spanish

hgomez@kent.edu

 

Cindy Hazelton

French Translation

Legal Translation

     

Karil Klayko

 

Administrative Assistant

     

Geoffrey Koby

German Translation

Empirical Translation Studies, Evaluation & Assessment of Translation

Professor of German Translation

gkoby@kent.edu

330-672-1814

Isabel Lacruz

Spanish Translation

Translation and Cognition, Empirical Methods

Associate Professor of Spanish Translation

ilacruz@kent.edu

330-672-1797

Bin Liu

   

Doctoral Fellow, Chinese

bliu12@kent.edu

 

Carol Maier

Spanish Translation

Literary &Cultural Translation, Translation Theory, Translation Pedagogy

Emeritus Professor of Spanish Translation

cmaier@kent.edu

 

Alvaro Marin Garcia

   

Doctoral Fellow, Spanish

amaringa@kent.edu

 

Françoise Massardier-Kenney

French Translation

Literary & Cultural Translation, Translation Theory, Translation Pedagogy

Professor of French Translation; Director, Institute for Applied Linguistics

fkenney@kent.edu

330-672-2150

Sandra Najar

   

Doctoral Fellow, Spanish

snajar@kent.ed

 

Julien Roland

   

Doctoral Fellow, French

jroland2@kent.edu

330-672-2150

Said Shiyab

Arabic Translation

Translation Theory, Cross and Inter-cultural Communication, Literary Translation, Translation Assessment, and Research Methods

 

Professor of Translation Studies & Coordinator of the MA Arabic Translation Studies

sshiyab@kent.edu

330-672-1864

Greg Shreve

German Translation

Translation Theory, Empirical Translation Studies, Computer-Assisted Translation and Terminology Studies, Software Engineering

Emeritus Professor of German Translation

gshreve@kent.edu

 

Indira Sultanic

   

Doctoral Fellow, Spanish

isultani@kent.edu

 

Joanna Trzeciak

Russian Translation

Literary and Cultural Translation, Translation Theory

Associate Professor of Russian & Polish Translation

jtrzecia@kent.edu

 

Judy Wakabayashi

Japanese Translation

Translation History, Translation Theory, Translation Pedagogy

Professor of Japanese Translation

jwakabay@kent.edu

330-672-1819

Richard Kelly Washbourne

Spanish Translation

Translation Pedagogy, Literary and Cultural Translation, Contemporary Latin American Literature

Professor of Spanish Translation

rwashbou@kent.edu

330-672-2150

Sue Ellen Wright

German Translation

Translation Theory, Scientific & Technical Translation, Terminology Studies, Computer-Assisted Terminology

Professor of German Translation

swright@kent.edu