Dateline Brazil

Sixteen students and three faculty members traveled south of the equator for two weeks in March to tell the story of the people, places and things in Curitiba, Brazil. The students were members of the College of Communication and Information's International Storytelling course.

Alumna Brooke DiDonato (’12) has earned another significant JMC “first”: her award-winning photo illustration, Exorcism, is the cover photo of the 33rd Annual Spring Photographer’s FORUM Best of College and High School Photography (2013).

Daniel Moore, a junior majoring in newspaper journalism, is one of 24 student journalists from 12 universities around the country conducting a national investigative reporting project on post-9/11 veterans as part of the Carnegie-Knight News21 in-depth journalism program. Moore is the first JMC student to be awarded a prestigious News21 Fellowship. News21 is headquartered at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Arizona State University.

JMC students won five of seven Akron Press Club scholarships this year. Four JMC students have been selected for scholarships in memory of longtime Akron Beacon Journal Editor John S. Knight and public relations professional Ludel Sauvageot; a fifth has been selected for a $3,000 Akron Press Club scholarship. This year’s Knight scholars are Kathryn Coduto, Lydia Coutré and Tyler Pina of Kent State and each receives a $3,000 scholarship.


For the first time, a team of Kent State University students will compete as finalists in the  Public Relations Student Society of America's annual Bateman case study competition.

The Akron Area Public Relations Society of America recently awarded a scholarship to Taylor Titus, a senior public relations major, from funds raised by its award-winning YouToo Social Media Conference.

Students and staff of Student Media’s advertising staff traveled to San Diego last week for the annual College Newspaper Business and Advertising Managers convention.

This year was the 41st National CNBAM convention. Students and staff spent time in sessions focusing on new digital concepts, social media, design and the changing look of college student media departments.

The Ball State University Department of Journalism presented associate professor Candace Perkins Bowen with the 2013 Indiana Scholastic Journalism award at its annual conference earlier this month. Bowen is also the director for the Center for Scholastic Journalism.

The Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) announced its 2012 Mark of Excellence (MOE) Award winners from region 4 last week, and JMC students and student media earned 24 top placements in 19 categories -- the highest number of winners among all regional entrants. JMC took first place in nine categories, including newspapers, magazine, art/graphics, TV and online. The nine first-place winners will move on to the national MOE competition, with results due later this spring.