JMC | 1560725133 | Page 6 | Kent State University


Four books published by the Kent State University Press received IPPY awards during the 17th annual Independent Publisher Book Awards that took place in New York on May 29. The IPPY awards was created in 1996 to recognize books published by independent authors and publishers.

Brooke DiDonato

After capturing several highly competitive awards for her photo illustrations, DiDonato has now been selected for the prestigiousEddie Adams Workshop, “an intense-four day gathering of the top photography professionals and 100 carefully selected students.” This is the 25th anniversary of the workshop.

Thirty-five teachers from 21 states in all parts of the country will get a mix of media theory and hands-on practice in Franklin Hall for two weeks July 7 – 19.

They are the Fellows of the 2013 Reynolds High School Journalism Institute, planning to take what they learn back to their schools and their new or soon-to-be re-invigorated student media programs.

JMC students dominated the student media portion of The Press Club of Cleveland’s Ohio Excellence in Journalism Awards, winning seven awards in print and TV news.In the Best Print News Story category:

•    Doug Brown, Frank Yonkof and Rachel Kilroy placed first for “The courting of Cope: Behind the scenes of a $1 million withdrawal.” Judges wrote about the piece. “Just outstanding. This entry could have been a contender in the professional competition. This is what journalists do, dig, dig, dig until they get the information that others don’t want to give them.”

Kent State University's School of Journalism and Mass Communication student photojournalists and photojournalism instructors won 12 awards, including Best of Show, at the Ohio News Photographers Association’s (ONPA) 2012 annual contest, making 2012-2013 the most award-winning year for the school’s photojournalism program in the last 30 years. The journalism school’s photojournalists previously won significant awards in the Hearst, College Photographer of the Year and Society of Professional Journalists competitions.

The Donald W. Reynolds Journalism Institute at the Missouri School of Journalism has selected Mark Goodman, JMC professor and Knight Chair in Scholastic Journalism, to be part of a team of national researchers and educators that produces lessons plans, classroom activities and research assignments for high school, community college and college teachers interested in journalism’s digital transformation. The new curriculum will be presented at the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC) in Washington, D.C., in August.

The School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Kent State University finished in eighth place in the overall national championship of the Hearst Journalism Awards Program. The school also earned seventh place rankings in both the photojournalism and multimedia categories. It will receive medallions for each award.

The School of Journalism and Mass Communication announces that Susan Kirkman Zake is the new assistant professor of journalism, focusing on multimedia. Her selection demonstrates JMC’s commitment to moving forward with a multimedia curriculum and remaining relevant with the industry and our students.

JMC student journalists and student media outlets continue to earn regional awards in the most award-winning academic year in JMC’s history.


Ohio Excellence in Journalism Awards

The Press Club of Cleveland honored several JMC student journalists with Ohio Excellence in Journalism Awards, in the first year that the competition has included a student-run media category. Award presentations will take place on June 7.

The 2013 winners include:

Best Print News Story, 4-Year School