News | Kent State University

School of Theatre and Dance News

Tuesday, February 20, 2018 - 10:55am
The School of Theatre and Dance welcomes Lionel Walsh to Kent State Sun., Feb. 25 and Mon., Feb. 26 for a two-day residency in the Michael Chekhov Technique. The workshop will be held each day from 6:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. in the Erdmann-Zucchero Theatre in the Center for the Perfo...
Friday, February 9, 2018 - 1:48pm
The Ailey School, the educational component of the Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater, will be at Kent State on Sat., Feb. 24 to audition students for the Ailey School's summer intensive program. Tracy Inman, Co-Director of The Ailey School will visit the School of Theatre and Da...
Friday, February 9, 2018 - 1:38pm
Lauren Anderson, former principal dancer with the Houston Ballet, will visit Kent State University's School of Theatre and Dance on Friday, February 23 to present a master class. 
Thursday, February 8, 2018 - 8:33pm
Tamara L. Honesty, assistant professor of scenic design, was recently re-elected to the board of directors of the United States Institute for Theatre Technology (USITT).
Thursday, February 1, 2018 - 11:44am
The School of Theatre and Dance will welcome Colin Connor, the artistic director of the Limón Dance Company for a master class this Sunday, February 4. The class doubles as an audition for the Limón Dance Company's summer intensive that will be held at Kent State in July 2018.
Sunday, January 21, 2018 - 10:39pm
Sponsored by the Performing Arts Library and the School of Theatre and Dance, Kent State University is hosting a portion of the United States' 2015 Prague Quadrennial exhibit. The exhibit will be on display in the Performing Arts Library in the...
Saturday, January 20, 2018 - 10:25pm
The Kent Dance Ensemble, under the artistic direction of Gregory King, will welcome its fourth guest artist of the 2017-2018 season, L. Taylor Ashton, the weekend of January 19-21. Ashton is an alumna of the Kent Dance Ensemble and of Kent State University's School of Theatre and...
Thursday, January 18, 2018 - 4:44pm
The School of Theatre and Dance at Kent State University continues its 2017-2018 season with "All Shook Up." The production is directed by assistant professor Amy Fritsche and runs Fri., Feb. 23 through Sun., March 4 in E. Turner Stump Theatre.  Opening night, Feb. 23, is SOLD OU...
Thursday, January 18, 2018 - 4:18pm
Three School of Theatre and Dance students were awarded Flash Grants by Kent State's College of the Arts for projects taking place during the Spring 2018 semester.
Friday, December 15, 2017 - 2:10pm
Dance major and Kent Dance Ensemble member Austin Coats will perform "Vital Grace," a solo choreographed by Gregory King, at the International Association of Blacks in Dance conference in Los Angeles, California in January 2018.

Pages