Chad Hollis-Chan Named 2021 Roger T. Beitler Distinguished Former Student Award Winner

2006 Kent State Ashtabula graduate earns campus alumni award

Chad Hollis-Chan, RN, MSN, CNP, a 2006 Kent State University at Ashtabula Associate of Applied Science in Nursing (ADN) graduate, is the 2021 Roger T. Beitler Distinguished Former Student Award recipient. Hollis-Chan is currently a nurse practitioner in the internal medicine department at Cleveland Clinic.

Hollis-Chan, a Jefferson native, was presented his award recently by Kent State Ashtabula Dean and Chief Administrative Officer Susan J. Stocker, Ph.D., and Julie Senita, Ph.D., Senior Program Director for Nursing and Allied Health.

““I’m so proud of Chad. He’s really grown as a person and a nurse,” said Stocker. “It was very clear when we presented the award to him on the unit he works on at Cleveland Clinic, that he is respected by the physicians for his knowledge and skills and also admired by his co-workers as a caring nurse and colleague.”

After admittedly struggling with his studies at first, Hollis-Chan became a dedicated student who ultimately went on to earn a bachelor’s degree in nursing from Cleveland State University in 2009 before returning to the Kent State system to earn his master’s degree in 2012. 

“I had a rocky start, but I knew if I was going to make something of myself, I needed to make some changes,” he said.  “It took a lot of work, but once I was on that path to becoming a nurse, the rest was easy.”

“Even though, throughout my college experiences, the nursing classes at Kent State Ashtabula were by far the toughest,” he joked.  “They provided a great foundation to build my career upon.”

Hollis-Chan began his professional career as a staff nurse right after graduating from Kent State Ashtabula and has been at Cleveland Clinic since 2006.  He first started in vascular surgery before moving to internal medicine in 2016.  When he went to graduate school after graduating with honors from CSU, Hollis-Chan began working as a clinical instructor for the Kent State Ashtabula ADN program, calling it “an amazing experience to be able to work with students back where it all started for me.” He also served as a part-time instructor for the CSU School of Nursing.

In 2012, Hollis-Chan received the Clinical Excellence in Vascular Nursing Award from the Society of Vascular Nursing for his exceptional clinical skills and direct patient care delivery.

Hollis-Chan lives in Cleveland with his husband and daughter.

About The Award
The Roger T. Beitler Distinguished Former Student Award is named for Roger T. Beitler, the first director of the Ashtabula Academic Center from 1958-1963, who laid the firm foundation upon which the Kent State University at Ashtabula Campus has continued to build. To honor his memory and dedication to faculty and students, the Ashtabula Campus Faculty Council established the Roger T. Beitler Distinguished Former Student Award. It has been given annually since 1980 to former students who have made notable contributions in their respective vocations.


All-Time Roger T. Beitler Award Recipients:

1980       John J. Cogan, Ph.D.

1981       Charles E. Pirtle, Ph.D.

1982       Timothy A. Lockwood

1983       Cynthia J. Weiss, Ph.D.

1984       Richard G. Orlando, M.D.

1985      Barbara A. West

1986      Susan M. Doll

1987      Ross Boggs, Jr.

1988      Joseph Moroski

1989      Karen Dean, Ph.D.

1990      Charlea Jackson Harbert

1991       Joseph P. Vincenzo, Ph.D.

1992       Dick Houston

1993       Susan D. Gilster

1994      Robert T. White, Ph.D.

1995       Thomas V. Petros, Ph.D.

1996       Susan L. Taft-Englehart

1997       Estella M. Hyde

1998       Pamela A. Boss, Ph.D.

1999      Susan J. Stocker, Ph.D.

2000       John R. Patterson, Jr. Ph.D.

2001       Ernest M. DeZolt, Ph.D.

2002       Emily R. Fisher

2003       Brian D. Tucker

2004       C. Rick Ellis, Ed.D.

2005       Martin R. Cole

2006       Diana L. Randolph

2007       Bret J. Cimorell

2008      Richard L. Garcia

2009       Patricia (Pat) Inman

2010       Christopher C. Avery, Ph.D.

2011       Joseph D. Puthoff           

2012       Deborah A. Newcomb

2013       Marlene Monroe Sartini, R.N.

2014       Roger A. Corlett, CPA

2015       Stephen E. Varckette

2016       Patrick E. Colucci, Sr.

2017       Pamela Hetrick, MSN, CNM

2018       Matthew Butler, BA, MSSA

2019       Camille A. Zalar, MHA, BSN, RN, CARN

2020       Not presented (COVID-19 pandemic)

2021       Chad Hollis-Chan, RN, MSN, CNP


POSTED: Monday, August 9, 2021 - 11:43am
UPDATED: Monday, August 9, 2021 - 11:54am
Kent State Ashtabula Communications & Marketing