Senior Vice President and Provost

Melody J. Tankersley, Ph.D.

Melody Tankersley, Ph.D.

Senior Vice President and Provost
Division of Academic Affairs


  • B.S., Winthrop University
  • M.Ed., Winthrop University
  • Ph.D., University of Virginia


Provost Tankersley leads the largest of Kent State’s six divisions and is responsible for the administration, faculty and staff within the university’s 10 colleges and seven Regional Campuses. She provides leadership in the areas of curriculum, academic personnel and faculty affairs, research, experiential education and civic engagement, student success and global education. As a member of the President’s Cabinet, she assists in the development and administration of university policies and strategic goals.


  • Vice President for Regional Campuses and Dean of the College of Applied and Technical Studies, Peggy Shadduck
  • Senior Associate Provost, Vacant
  • Associate Provost, Faculty Affairs, Sue Averill (retiring Aug. 2021)
  • Associate Provost, Faculty Affairs, Kevin West
  • Associate Provost, Global Education, Marcello Fantoni
  • Associate Provost and Dean of Graduate Studies, Manfred van Dulmen
  • Assistant Provost for Accreditation, Assessment, and Learning, Susan Perry
  • Director for Institutional Research, Wayne Schneider
  • Associate Vice President, Continuing and Distance Education, Valerie Kelly
  • Project Director, Academic Affairs, Jennifer (Butto) Hebebrand
  • Assistant to the Provost, Tracee Jackson
  • Associate Vice President for University Outreach and Engagement, Dana Lawless-Andric
  • Dean, College of Aeronautics and Engineering, Christina Bloebaum
  • Dean, College of Architecture and Environmental Design, Mark Mistur
  • Interim Dean, College of Arts and Sciences, Mandy Munro-Stasiuk
  • Dean, College of the Arts, Diane Petrella
  • Dean, College of Business Administration, Deborah Spake
  • Dean, College of Communication and Information, Amy Reynolds
  • Dean, College of Education, Health and Human Services, James Hannon
  • Dean, College of Podiatric Medicine, Allan Boike
  • Dean, College of Public Health, Sonia Alemagno
  • Dean, College of Nursing, Denice Sheehan
  • Dean, University College, Eboni Pringle
  • Dean, University Libraries, Kenneth Burhanna
  • Dean, Honors College, Alison Smith

CONTACT, 330-672-8613