Student Persistence Award 

Student Persistence Award 

(Lester A. Lefton Student Persistence Award)

Student Persistence Award 

Multiple $500 scholarships are awarded to Kent State University students. The Student Persistence Award is awarded in August each year. Scholarship recipients will receive a revised award letter prior to the start of the fall term (or at the end of the awarding process).

Eligibility Criteria 

1. Junior or senior class standing as of fall 2021 (therefore, not graduating in the spring or summer 2021).

2. Complete the 2021-2022 Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) as soon as possible after October 1, 2020. Complete the FAFSA online at Be sure to designate Kent State University to receive your FAFSA results (Federal School Code: 003051). Failure to complete the FAFSA will eliminate you from consideration for need-based scholarships.

3. In order to be considered for the scholarship included on this application, you must:

  • Be fully admitted to or are a continuing student in good standing at Kent State University.
  • Submit application (Google Form) in its entirety with the correct KSU Student Banner ID number.
  • Complete the personal statement and any additional scholarship requirements and/or questions within the Google Form.

Academic Year 2021-2022 Student Persistence Award Applications

Submit your application at the following link: Student Persistence Award Application

If you have any questions please contact Shana Lee, Assistant Dean of Students, at or (330) 672-8582. Completed applications must be submitted by Friday, May 21, 2021