What do graduate students need to know regarding the composition of thesis and doctoral committees?

  • Thesis Committee: The thesis committee will consist of at least four faculty members, including the advisor and three other departmental faculty members. At least one member of the examining committee will be from the Psychological Science faculty and one from the Clinical faculty.
  • Dissertation Committee: The dissertation committee consists of the advisor, two or more faculty members from the Department of Psychology (including both Psychological Science and Clinical faculty members), and one graduate faculty member from another department.
  • Faculty advisors can check a faculty member's graduate faculty status at the following website: https://www.kent.edu/graduatestudies/graduate-faculty-status.