Multicultural and Diversity Committee

Mission Statement

The mission of the Kent State University, Department of Psychological Sciences, Multicultural and Diversity Committee (MDC) is to make a positive difference in the education of all students within the department through the promotion of an atmosphere of multicultural acceptance, competence, and diversity.


MDC's Constitution is a written document that establishes the rules and principles of the committee. The constitution defines the fundamental principles, and establishes the structure, procedures, powers and duties, of the committee.

Related Links

Alex Chong teaching high school Upward Bound students during the team-taught Psychology course provided for the 2015 Summer Upward Bound Program at Kent State University. This is one of the MDC's many activities conducted to promote an atmosphere of diversity.





2020 - 2021 MDC


Faculty Advisor: Mary Himmelstein (email)


Past Chairperson: Elizabeth Jean (email)

Chairperson: Stanley Seah (email)


Chair of Legacy: Tiffany Rowell (email)


Chair of Finances: Nola Daley (email)

Vice Chair of Finances: Jessica LaBuda (email)


Chair of Resources: Carli Obeldobel (email)

Vice Chair of Resources: John Martin (email)


Chair of Public Relations & Social Affairs: Elizabeth Jean (email)

Vice Chair of Public Relations & Social Affairs: Ahmad Kittaneh (email)


Chair of Recruitment & Retention: Nicolle Simonovic (email)

Vice Chair of Recruitment & Retention: Emily Rabinowitz (email


Chair of Events & Programs: Keaton Somerville (email)

Vice Chair of Events & Programs: Tess Gladstone (email)


Members at Large (MDC Subcommittee):

  • Monica Garcia (Public Relations)

  • Natasha Sidhu (Legacy)

  • Logan Kochendofer (Recruitment & Retention)

  • Emily Rabinowitz (Recruitment & Retention)

  • Marielle Samii (Recruitment & Retention)

  • Jordan Weith (Recruitment & Retention)


Are you interested in joining the Multicultural and Diversity Committee or participating in activities? 

If so, please contact the Chair.  Thank you very much for your interest.