News | Kent State University
Tuesday, February 13, 2018 - 4:37pm
The Kent Keyboard Series continues its 2017-2018 season with pianist Donna Lee, Steinway Artist, professor and coordinator of piano at Kent State University, on Sun., Feb. 25 at 5 p.m. in Ludwig Recital Hall. She will be joined by cellist Keith Robinson, founding member of the Mi...
Tuesday, February 6, 2018 - 12:44pm
The Kent Wind Ensemble presents its third free concert of the 2017-2018 season, “Hecho en México: Made in Mexico” on Sun., Feb. 18 at 3 p.m. in the University Auditorium at Cartwright Hall. Featuring the music of Latino composers with a focus on Mexico, the same program will be p...
Tuesday, February 6, 2018 - 12:29pm
Presented by New Music at Kent State as part of the Vanguard Guest Artist Series, Mantra Percussion will perform on Sat., Feb. 17 at 7:30 p.m. in Ludwig Recital Hall. Known for performing evening-length works, Mantra will feature “Timber” by Michael Gordon and “A Great Many” by A...
Monday, January 29, 2018 - 1:40pm
On Feb. 8-10, 2018 music educators from across the state of Ohio will gather at the Greater Columbus Convention Center in Columbus, Ohio for the OMEA Professional Development Conference. The Hugh A. Glauser School of Music will have a strong presence at this year’s conference, wi...
Tuesday, January 23, 2018 - 1:53pm
The Kent State University Orchestra presents its fourth subscription series concert of the 2017-2018 season on Fri., Feb. 16 at 7:30 p.m. in the University Auditorium at Cartwright Hall. Joining the orchestra are the student winners of the annual concerto competition; Ian Daugher...
Thursday, January 4, 2018 - 3:02pm
The Kent Keyboard Series continues its 2017-2018 season with pianist Read Gainsford, professor and coordinator of keyboard at Florida State University, on Sun., Jan. 28 at 5 p.m. in Ludwig Recital Hall. Tickets are available through the Performing Arts Box Office in advance in-pe...
Tuesday, January 2, 2018 - 2:35pm
“A Celebration of Life” was held for Halim El-Dabh on Sun., Nov. 19, 2017 in Cartwright Hall. Full of the same optimism, enthusiasm and passion he held throughout his life, Halim passed away peacefully in his home on Sat., Sept. 2 at 96 years old. The celebration included perform...
Wednesday, December 20, 2017 - 2:52pm
Theodore Albrecht, Ph.D., professor of musicology in Kent State University’s Hugh A. Glauser School of Music, has been awarded the Beethoven Medal in recognition of his musicological contributions to the study of composer Ludwig van Beethoven. Dr. Albrecht received the award duri...
Tuesday, December 19, 2017 - 12:21pm
On Sat., Oct. 21, the annual student auditions of the Ohio Chapter of the National Association of Teachers of Singing (NATS) took place at Youngstown State University. Under the leadership of Kent State professor Timothy Culver, Vice President of the chapter and the coordinator f...
Wednesday, November 29, 2017 - 9:04am
Kent State Music Department faculty member and saxophonist Christopher Coles is creating an interdisciplinary musical composition that honors those killed in a church shooting

Pages

The latest from the School of Music!

Events, feature stories and more.