Alumni Spotlight

Many of our Alumni have assumed prominent positions in Higher Education and Arts Organizations.

Interested in possibly being featured here? Fill out our Alumni Spotlight submission form

  • Jack Ballard, Jr. (Ph.D. in Music Theory-Composition): Past Chair, Department of Music, Malone University
  • Michael Christ (Ph.D. in Music Education): Director, Dana School of Music, Youngstown State University; Interim Associate Dean of College of Creative Arts and Communication [Retired]
  • Patricia Flowers (M.M. and B.M. in Music Education): Dean, College of Music, Florida State University
  • Jane Riegel Ferencz (M.M. in Cello Performance and M.A. in Musicology): Interim Associate Dean, College of Arts and Communication & Associate Professor of Musicology, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
  • John Goodall (M.M. in Performance): Associate Dean, College of Fine Arts, Stephen F. Austin State University
  • Linda Hartley (Ph.D. and M.M. in Music Education): Past Coordinator for Undergraduate and Graduate Music Education, University of Dayton; Associate Dean, School of Education and Health Sciences
  • Susan Larson (B.S. in Music Education and Performance): Executive Director, Newark-Granville Symphony Orchestra
  • Sheri Matascik (Ph.D. in Music Theory-Composition): Past Co-Chair of Division of Fine Arts, Maryville College
  • Peter McAllister (Ph.D. in Music Education): Currently Vice President of  Academic Affairs, Ringling College of Art and Design, Sarasota, Florida; Past Dean, College of Arts and Letters, California State University, Los Angeles
  • M. Scott McBride (M.M. in Performance, B.M. in Music Education): Dean, Caudill College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences, Morehead State University
  • Michael Parkinson (M.M. in Performance): Director, School of Music, Middle Tennessee State University
  • Daniel Perttu (M.M. in Performance, M.A. in Music Composition): Chair, Department of Music, Westminster College
  • William Post (Ph.D. in Music Theory-Composition): Chair, Department of Music, University of Alaska-Fairbanks
  • Gerald (Jerry) Ringe (M.M. in Performance, 2007): Associate Professor and leadership in exploring NASM membership, Tarrant County College (Texas)
  • Denise Seachrist (Ph.D. in Musicology-Ethnomusicology): Dean and Chief Administrative Officer, Kent State University Stark
  • Wendy Sims (M.M. and B.M. in Music Education): Director of Music Education, University of Missouri
  • Michael Stephens (M.A. in Music Composition, B.M. in Music Education): Past Chair, Department of Music, Chadron State College
  • David Teachout (Ph.D. in Music Education): Music Education Department Head, The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
  • Ann Usher (Ph.D. in Music Education, M.M. in Choral Conducting): Currently Associate Dean, Buchtel College of Arts and Sciences at The University of Akron; Past Director, School of Music, The University of Akron
  • Susan Van Vorst (B.A. in Music): Dean, Conservatory of Music, Baldwin Wallace University