Kent State University President Beverly Warren this week named School of Information (iSchool) Professor Yin Zhang, Ph.D., a recipient of the esteemed 2018 President’s Faculty Excellence Award.

Pamela Harr, an adjunct professor in the Kent State University School of Communication Studies, will be a featured speaker at the second annual TEDxKentState.

Hosted by the Kent State Undergraduate Student Government, the TEDx event is themed “Pale Blue Dot,” referencing the smallness of the Earth but the importance of its history, passions, lessons and potential for the future even in “the grand ethos of the universe.”

The School of Communication Studies is seeking applicants for nearly $20,000 in scholarships which will be awarded in late April at the school-wide Scholarships & Awards Reception. A mix of awards is available for communication studies undergraduate and graduate students, including communication studies-focused Ph.D., students. 

Kent State’s College of Communication and Information was recognized with the 2018 Unity Award for Diversity for implementing a variety of diversity courses as part of its curriculum, creating successful diversity programs, and dedicating faculty and staff to diversity initiatives within the college and the university.

COMM Assistant Professor Jennifer L. McCullough, Ph.D., co-authored “How Do You Like Your Forgiveness? Communication Style Preferences and Effects” in Communication Studies Vol. 68, No. 5, 2017, 568-587. 

The Broadcast Education Association (BEA) held its September 2017 “Super-Regional” BEA On-Location conference at Point Park University in Pittsburgh, Penn.


Students, faculty, staff and Kent community members came together on Oct. 3 to examine the state of the First Amendment with two renowned First Amendment scholars, David L. Hudson., Jr. of the Vanderbilt University School of Law and ombudsman of the Newseum Institute’s First Amendment Center and Gene Policinski, chief operating officer of the Newseum Institute and First Amendment Center

Each year, dozens of professionals share insight with students in Kent State’s School of Journalism and Mass Communication (JMC) through guest lectures. One of them, Edwige Winans, associate research director at the Cleveland advertising agency MarcusThomas LLC, was honored with this year’s Sharon Marquis Friends of JMC Award. 

The award, named in honor of Sharon Marquis, longtime business manager for student media and senior secretary in JMC, honors an individual who has demonstrated remarkable support to the School’s mission and students.