College of Arts and Sciences Honors its Distinguished Student Leaders, Teachers and Advisors

Awards Banquet Held April 21 (Photos)

The College of Arts and Sciences held its annual awards banquet to recognize and honor its distinguished student leaders, teachers and advisors on April 21. James Blank, Ph.D., dean of the College of Arts and Sciences gave the welcome and closing remarks and presented the awards, along with Matthew Minichillo, assistant dean of Academic and Student Services, to the award recipients.  George Newkome, Ph.D., who received his B.S. and Ph.D. in Chemistry from Kent State, gave the keynote speech.

Paul Sampson, Ph.D. professor and assistant chair in the Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry, was the recipient of the 2016 Distinguished Advisor Award. Kristin Stasiowski, Ph.D., assistant professor of Italian Language and Literature in the Department of Modern and Classical Languages and director of International Programs and Education Abroad for the College of Arts and Sciences, was the recipient of the 2016 Distinguished Teacher Award.   

The distinguished students were nominated by the departments within the college. The recipients of these awards have proven leadership abilities in academic areas, student organizations, special projects, university service and community service. The 2016 recipients of the Distinguished Student Awards are:

  • Amy Enlow- MCLS
  • Vivian Feke- Sociology, JMC
  • Elliot Golias- Mathematics, Physics
  • Rosemary Heredos- English, Music
  • Courtney Herman- Biological Sciences
  • John Hess- Political Science
  • Monica Kaiser- CACM
  • Megan Kasperczyk- Psychological Sciences
  • Nathaniel Lee- Geography
  • Breta Moore- History, Anthropology
  • Destinee Mulcahy- Crimonology and Justice Studies, Sociology
  • Zachary Nickels- Philosophy, English
  • David Scarpitti- Physics
  • Theodore Surdel- Geology
  • Shen Wen Tan- English (TEASL)
  • Jhanisse Vaca Daza- CACM
  • Mary Waddington- Chemistry
POSTED: Friday, April 22, 2016 06:52 PM
Updated: Thursday, December 8, 2022 04:59 PM
Jim Maxwell