College of Arts and Sciences Honors its Distinguished Student Leaders, Teachers and Advisors

Awards Banquet Held April 20 (Photos)

The College of Arts and Sciences held its annual awards banquet to recognize and honor its distinguished student leaders, teachers and advisors on April 20. James Blank, Ph.D., dean of the College of Arts and Sciences gave the welcome and closing remarks and presented the awards, along with Matthew Minichillo, assistant dean of Academic and Student Services, to the award recipients.  Donald J. Miller, who received his bachelor’s degree in Technology, master’s degree in computer science and an Executive MBA from Kent State, gave the keynote speech.

Joan Iacobacci, a Senior Advisor I in the Department of Biological Sciences, was the recipient of the 2017 Distinguished Advisor Award. Alexander Seed, Ph.D., associate professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry, was the recipient of the 2017 Distinguished Teacher Award. Oscar Rocha, Ph.D., associate professor of Biological Sciences, received the Distinguished Faculty Award for Excellence in Education Abroad. Scott Sheridan, Ph.D., professor and interim chairperson in the Department of Geography, received the Distinguished Faculty Award for Excellence in International Student Engagement. Alyssa DeSimone, who’s pursuing a B.A. in Teaching English as a Second Language and minor in Japanese, received the 2017 Distinguished International Scholarship Award.     

The distinguished students were nominated by faculty in the department of their major. The recipients of these awards have proven leadership abilities in academic areas, student organizations, special projects, university service, community service, and/or other leadership areas. The 2017 recipients of the Distinguished Student Awards are:

  • Kyle Barron – English
  • Brittany Blier – Psychological Sciences
  • Matthew Chernesky – Political Science
  • Emily Creque – Biological Sciences
  • Lynsey Jarvis – Anthropology
  • Savannah Justus – Applied Conflict Management
  • Alyssa Lamont – Modern and Classical Language Studies
  • Natalie Leach – International Relations
  • Rebecca Leppelmeier – Computer Science
  • Emily McDonnell – International Relations
  • Elizabeth McMasters – Physics
  • Andrew Ohl – History, Political Science
  • Kathryn Palmucci – Mathematics
  • Kahzar Powell – Integrative Studies
  • LaKysha Robinson – Criminology and Justice Studies, Sociology
  • David Rosen – Philosophy
  • Shaun Sutton – Chemistry
  • Xiangming Zhao – Geology
POSTED: Monday, April 24, 2017 - 11:59am
UPDATED: Tuesday, May 2, 2017 - 11:35am
Jim Maxwell