CPM Awards Four Student Scholarships in Spirit of Canceled Alumni Reunion Weekend Events

Throughout the summer, the College of Podiatric Medicine (CPM) raised scholarship dollars in the spirit of Alumni Reunion Weekend that culminated in the announcement of this year’s four scholarship award winners, Trenton Leo, MS-IV; Emily Merriman, MS-IV; Peter Talisse, MS-IV; and Deana Lewis, MS-IV.

“It was great to know all of my time and dedication paid off,” Talisse said. 

At CPM, it has become tradition that during the third weekend of August each year, the CPM community gathers to honor the past with recognition of its alumni, as well as celebrate the future with scholarship awards granted to current students. It has been dubbed Student & Alumni Reunion Weekend, and includes a Continuing Education program for alumni, a casual night out to form key relationships between students and alumni, an upscale dinner and awards presentation downtown Cleveland and a student-run golf outing. While on the surface these may seem like entirely different events in their dress codes and itineraries, they serve the same purpose: proceeds from ticket sales go directly to CPM student scholarships.

This year, due to COVID-19, CPM had to make the difficult decision to cancel these imperative events and raise funds instead through a virtual campaign for student scholarships which was fittingly titled KSUCPM United.

Each year proceeds from the Alumni Reunion Weekend Events are collected and deposited into the OPMSA Endowed Scholarship Fund.The following year, $1,500 is awarded to a 4th year student that meets GPA requirements, passed AMPLE part one on the first attempt, is in good standing with the college and voted on by the general student body. This year’s recipient is Trenton Leo. Over the course of his four years at CPM, Leo has supported scholarship fundraising initiatives, has been a constant source of mentorship to his peers and has been praised by both attending physicians and patients.

“I am extremely thankful for the alumni and donors who have made this award possible over the years,” Leo said. “While the donors may not realize it, every little contribution goes a long way.”  

This year, CPMs partner, the Podiatry Insurance Company of America (PICA), granted two $2,500 scholarships, which were given to each recipient,  Merriman and  Talisse, both great examples of outstanding students that provide support, help and guidance to their peers and demonstrate passion for podiatry.

“I feel honored to be selected as a PICA scholarship winner,” Merriman said.

Finally, the Podiatry Foundation’s 2020 Thomas V. Melillo Full Tuition Scholarship Award goes to Deana Lewis. Lewis has maintained a grade point average of 4.0 throughout her years and has played a vital role in her student community, serving as President of the ACFAS Student Club, Vice President of SNPMA, President of the Women’s Basketball Club and as a member of Pi Delta Honors Society.

“The college of Podiatric Medicine has been nothing short of supportive in my last three and half years here,” Lewis said. “I want to express my sincere gratitude to all administration, faculty and staff for all the efforts they have taken to aid in my success at KSUCPM.”

You can watch Leo, Merriman, Talisse and Lewis accept their awards in a series of videos on social media, as well as at : https://www.kent.edu/cpm/United2020 .

POSTED: Tuesday, September 22, 2020 06:01 AM
Updated: Friday, December 9, 2022 12:41 PM