CPM Faculty and Students Awarded Nan Hilt Writers Award

The College of Podiatric Medicine (CPM) is no stranger to collaborative research efforts amongst faculty, students and alumni. In fact, this discernible collective atmosphere is often named by students as a leading factor in selecting CPM as opposed to one of the 8 other podiatry schools in the United States.


This Spring, CPM faculty members from the Division of Podiatric and General Medicine, Dr. Rachel Johnson and Dr. Abe Osbourne, were selected to receive the Nan Hilt Writers Award for their publication “The Diabetic Foot Assessment”, which reviews the diabetic foot assessment that nurses in healthcare settings and other healthcare professionals should use when caring for a diabetic patient. The faculty members’ co-authors were none other than current University Hospitals Wound Care Fellow and CPM Graduate, Jess Rispoli, DPM, along with Class of 2019 CPM Graduate Craig Verdin. “The Diabetic Foot Assessment” was published in the January/February 2018 issue of Orthopaedic Nursing, a prominent, international, peer reviewed journal.


The editorial board for Orthopaedic Nursing selected Osbourne and Johnson’s manuscript as the best clinical article in the 2018 volume year. Osbourne, Johnson, Rispoli and Verdin were presented with the Nan Hilt Writers Award at the Annual Meeting of the National Association of Orthopaedic Nurses (NAON) on Saturday, May 18th in Atlanta, GA.


The full article “The Diabetic Foot Assessment” can be viewed by visiting the following link: https://insights.ovid.com/pubmed?pmid=29369130 .


POSTED: Friday, September 20, 2019 - 2:06pm
UPDATED: Friday, September 20, 2019 - 2:06pm