History | Kent State Geauga | Kent State University


History in a timeline

The Geauga Campus and Regional Academic Center 
1964: Night classes were offered at West Geauga High School
Students enrolled: 119
Tuition per credit hour: $15.50
The Geauga community and it's leaders recognized early on the importance and growing need for higher education in the region. The approached Kent State University and in 1964 began offering night classes at West Geauga High School. It didn't take long before the community petitioned Kent State University's President Robert White to expand the offering to daytime classes in a new academic center.

1966 - 1978: Mr. Don Welever, Executive Director

1967: A two-year Academic Center was established at Park Elementary School in Chardon

1969: Burton Chamber of Commerce supports higher education commitment in Geauga County

The Burton Chamber of Commerce passed two resolutions on October 6, 1969. 

1- To whole-heartedly approve and support the construction for the proposed Kent State University regional campus.

2- Commitment to pay the $15,000 interest for the purchase of the land.

1970: B.J. Shanower donates land to build a permanent home for the Geauga Campus

1974: Groundbreaking Ceremony at 14111 Claridon Troy Rd. in Burton for a new campus

1976: Spring registration was advertised at the new Geauga Campus

Three associate degree programs are offered; General Studies, Law Enforcement, and Office Management

1978 - 1981: Dr. William Bittle, Dean

1980: Growth of offered degreed programs

Enrollment: 311

1981 - 1985: Dr. Greg Shreve, Dean

1985 -1987: Ms. Joanne Fagenburg, Executive Director

1985: Partnership established with Chrysler Stamping Plant

1987 -1993: Dr. Larry Jones, Dean

1990: Growth in Twinsburg

Classes are expanded in Twinsburg and move to the "Old School."

1993 -2004: Dr. Christopher Williams, Dean

2004 - 2014: Dr. David Mohan, Dean

2012: Ribbon Cutting Ceremony at the new Regional Academic Center in Twinsburg

2014: The Geauga Campus celebrates 50 years

2015 -16: Dr. Jarrod Tudor, Dean

2016 - 2017: Dr. Susan Stocker, Interim Dean

2017: The Regional Academic Center in Twinsburg celebrates 30 years in the community and 5 years in the new facility

2018: Dr. Angela Spalsbury, Dean