2021-22 Faculty and Staff Excellence Award Recipients Announced

Dean Angela Spalsbury invited faculty, staff, and students to nominate Kent State Geauga and Twinsburg Academic Center full-time and part-time faculty members as well as a staff member to be selected for the Spring 2022 Excellence Awards.

The faculty award recognizes the importance of superior teaching and encourages teaching achievement. The staff award is equally important but emphasizes an employee who supports the day-to-day operations of the two-site campus and the Student's First priority.

Dean Spalsbury is thrilled to announce the Spring 2022 Excellence Award recipients:

Faculty Excellence Award: Dr. Sanhita Gupta, Biological Sciences (full-time); and Timothy Bowens, Middle Childhood Education (part-time).

Staff Excellence Award: Susan Mark-Sracic, Counseling Specialist

Submitted nominations for Dr. Sanhita Gupta, Associate Professor of Biological Sciences, explained that she always made her course material clear and concise. She was kind and willing to help if students did not understand a concept
Dr. Sanhita Gupta and Dean Angela Spalsbury
and always had answers to students' questions. A student shared, "She is one of my favorite professors!" Dr. Gupta is a familiar face on campus and is a very engaged faculty member.  She understands the
Tim Bowens and Dean Angela Spalsbury
importance of foundational science to nursing and develops lessons and hands-on lab experiences to ensure our BSN and ADN students are prepared for the NCLEX.  Well deserved, Dr. Gupta!
Tim Bowens is an adjunct faculty member who teaches in the Bachelor of Science in Middle Childhood Education (MCED) program. Dr. Dever, Program Coordinator of the MCED program, shared, "I cannot speak highly enough of Mr. Bowens. One of Tim's best additions to the MCED program at Kent State Geauga is his bubbly personality which helps him relate to his students as well as provide humor to their seemingly stressful course loads. One can always count on Tim to bring a lighthearted spirit to the students and other faculty!"
Sue Mark-Sracic and Dean Angela Spalsbury

The Staff Excellence Award winner—Susan Mark-Sracic—is the Twinsburg Academic Center's Counseling Specialist. Sue's position is integral for our students' success: She encourages and welcomes private conversations with students regarding their mental health and empowers students to improve themselves both personally and academically. Sue also oversees the Wellness Club, has fostered relationships with area food banks to offer free food to students in need, and has created study groups to help students succeed.

The awardees were recognized at the Commencement Ceremony held at Parkside Church on Friday, May 13, 2022. Join us in congratulating these three very deserving excellence award recipients!

POSTED: Monday, May 23, 2022 - 9:49am
UPDATED: Monday, May 23, 2022 - 10:08am
Amy Murfello