Fall 2020 Faculty and Staff Excellence Award Recipients Announced

Dean Angela Spalsbury invited faculty, staff, and students to nominate Kent State Geauga and Twinsburg Academic Center full-time and part-time faculty members as well as a full-time or part-time staff member to be selected for the Fall 2020 Excellence Awards.

The faculty award recognizes the importance placed on superior teaching and encourages teaching achievement. The staff award is equally important but emphasizes an employee who supports the day-to-day operations of the two-site campus and the Students First priority.

Dean Spalsbury is thrilled to announce the Fall 2020 Excellence Award recipients:

Faculty Excellence Award: Dr. Arne Weigold, Psychological Sciences (full-time); and Wayne Johnson, Psychological Studies (part-time)

Staff Excellence Award: Bethany Begeot and Mary Lynn Delfino, Admissions Counselors

Submitted nominations for Dr. Weigold explained that his smile is infectious, and he makes class fun and exciting. One student commented, "It is clear that Dr. Weigold truly cares about his students and has a passion for psychology. He is the best professor I have ever had." Dr. Weigold began his employment with Kent State Geauga and Twinsburg Academic Center in Fall 2019 and has significantly impacted our students in the year he has been teaching at the two-site location.

Wayne Johnson is an adjunct psychology faculty member who is hugely supportive of Kent State Geauga and Twinsburg Academic Center students. He has taught for Kent State for over 15 years, including seven years for the Geauga Campus. A submission explains that Wayne cares a lot about his students and is always willing to help when we have questions.

The Staff Excellence Award winners—Bethany Begeot and Mary Lynn Delfino—are the campus's admissions counselors. Bethany and Mary Lynn are often the first smiling faces new students interact with upon applying to Kent State Geauga and the Twinsburg Academic Center. One nomination explains, "The transitions necessary due to COVID substantially changed the way our admissions team operates. Nearly overnight, their work evolved from face-to-face relationship-building to virtual outreach and engagement with potential students." Bethany and Mary Lynn serve as a dynamic team and have been instrumental in helping potential students find their path at Kent State Geauga and the Twinsburg Academic Center.

Join us in congratulating these four very deserving excellence award recipients!

POSTED: Friday, December 18, 2020 - 9:40am
UPDATED: Friday, December 18, 2020 - 2:39pm
Amy Murfello