Kent State Regional Academic Center Nursing Students Inducted to Alpha Delta Nu Nursing Honor Society of OADN

The Associate of Applied Science in Nursing Program at Kent State University Geauga and Regional Academic Center in Twinsburg celebrated academic excellence for four student honor society inductees on March 21, 2019.  

Alpha Delta Nu Nursing Honor Society of OADN recognizes the academic excellence of students in the study of the Associate of Applied Science in Nursing degree. The society encourages the pursuit of advanced degrees in the profession of nursing as well as continuing education as a life-long professional responsibility. Additionally, the organization participates in the recruitment of qualified individuals into the profession of nursing. 

Honorees must meet the following criteria for membership:

  • Minimum GPA of 3.0 or above in all general education classes.
  • Earned grade of B or better in each nursing class.
  • No previous failures of any nursing class.
  • Demonstrated conduct that reflects integrity and professionalism.

The induction ceremony takes place during the final semester of the core curriculum. The ceremony is dignified and reflects the honor of academic excellence in the educational pursuit of nursing as well as the essence of what it means to be a nurse. The inductee is presented with an honor certificate, peach honor cord, and organization pin. The honor cord and pin are to be worn at pinning and graduation ceremonies. 

Upon an invitation to join the honor society, the students collaborated on and presented a project to the campus which promoted the nursing program options available within the Associate Degree level at the Kent State Regional Academic Center and were available to answer questions by students interested in the nursing program.

This year’s inductees are Jessica Hale, Rachel Hart, Adam Maag, and Justin Pikula. Family members joined the students at their celebration dinner in the Executive Suites at the Regional Academic Center. In attendance was Assistant Dean Susan Emens, Nursing Program Director Donna Casey, Nursing Faculty Advisors-Dawn Stokes, and Sharon Ginal, Nursing Faculty-Wendy Hildebrandt and Kim Zaleski and Nursing Admin. Clerk Connie Sott; Jana Sovacool Skills Lab Coordinator planned the event. 

Please join us in congratulating these four nursing students!

POSTED: Monday, March 25, 2019 - 10:39am
UPDATED: Monday, March 25, 2019 - 10:43am
Donna Casey