Kent State Tuscarawas Engineering Technology Department Competition Winners Announced

The Kent State University at Tuscarawas Engineering Technology Department announced the winners of two competitions for area high school students during the Engineering Technology Opportunity Expo held February 19. The students were trained in alternative energy and fluid power.

The submitted entries were judged by a committee of campus faculty and staff. First place winners were awarded $100, second place winners were awarded $50 and third place winners were awarded $25. In addition, winners who placed first, second and third were awarded a scholarship for $1,500, $1,000 and $750 respectively.

Alternative energy students were required to create a wind turbine to extract the maximum amount of energy from the wind. The winners for alternative energy are Hayden Dixon from Buckeye Career Center, first place; Cain Winkhart from Tuscarawas Valley High School, second place; and Joy Beach from Tuscarawas Valley High School, third place.

Students in the fluid power competition were trained how to create a hydraulic robot to pick up mini bricks and place them on a stand. The winners are Andrew Yoder from Hiland High School, first place; Aaron Miller from Buckeye Career Center, second place; and Anthony Miller from Hiland High School, third place.

To learn more about the engineering technology programs at Kent State Tuscarawas, visit

Kent State Tuscarawas is located at 300 University Dr. NE in New Philadelphia.

POSTED: Friday, February 21, 2020 - 3:40pm
UPDATED: Friday, February 21, 2020 - 3:40pm